IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2004-05-27 - Catchy title here
Very busy week this week, but it doesn't feel very "full." Worked two late nights in a row, laundry tonight then a free but early night tomorrow. I roll out for the
`49er Rally first thing Saturday.

2004-05-25 - Snuggle Pro
After an early morning upgrading servers Saturday, I rolled down to Fresno again to be with
Mark. I am delighted that I keep catching myself enjoying his company and looking at him lustily. He is still very much a hottie after four weekends together. We shared a few long baths, had a couple incredible meals (both out and made at home) and made lots of snuggles. I didn't want to leave Sunday afternoon, so called in to work Sunday evening and stayed another day. Mark will be traveling all summer and I won't get to see him again for a couple months. I didn't realize how long it would be `til I just looked at my calendar.

When I got home Monday afternoon, reality hit with full force. I spent a few hours unsuccessfully jumping though hoops for the DMV. Nothing can be simple with them, and heaven forbid you could actually call and get a real person to explain any of their tedious processes to their "customers." I loathe the DMV. Grrr...

Luckily, John & Joe came to the rescue. We made dinner, watched a movie together and made many snuggles on the couch. I need to build a home with live in grade A snuggle bears.

2004-05-19 - Jobbers
I went to get my teeth cleaned yesterday. Seeings that I've only ever had two cavities and those were not a big deal to get filled, dentist office visits have never been a bad thing for me. When
Richard showed up with a big smile and a gift of Muddy Bears I was delighted. Now that I sit and munch on the hard chewy super sticky chocolate covered bears, I wonder if this isn't all about job security. (evil grin)

I like to put two in my mouth, roll them around with my tongue and pretend they're mud wrestling for tops.

2004-05-17 - Thanks, Universe
I was up in
Yosemite this weekend for a Golden Gate Guards/Golden State Bears run. The valley is looking as wonderful as ever.

I feel blessed that I can get bent out of shape by irrational school girl crushes. I am blessed that I can stand on top of the world and at the same time feel small. I still get all teary eyed when I am away and weary and then turn a corner onto the bridge and see home--San Francisco sure is pretty. I get home and feel like I could fall over from exhaustion when I get a phone call from two wonderful men waiting on the street corner below ready to give me all the love and snuggles I'd been craving all weekend. Thank you, oh powers that be, for blessing me with the ability to appreciate my blessings as they are happening.

2004-05-10 - Cooking Flesh
Another great weekend in Fresno. Only one four hour bath on Friday night this go around. We cook well together--even though we made much more dinner than we could eat. I have no idea how our relationship will flesh out. What kind of relationship doesn't seem to be nearly as important as that we're both enjoying our time together and both wanting to invest more in building a relationship. Long cigar smokin' baths, cooking together and pillow talk about things like distributive memory seems reward enough in itself.

2004-05-05 - Odds and Remnants
Yesterday evening I was crossing the street to pick up my dinner from Marcellos. (A small stuffed BBQ Chicken-Cilantro-Corn pizza.) I was tickled to see
TheOtherDon signing "D-R-E-W [Bear]" when introducing Colin and I. I should really consider getting enough practice that I can sign for myself.

I need to find a new lab. Apparently the Unilab I go to on the corner of Noe and 15th is now Quest Diagnostics, and they don't get along with my health insurance company. To the order of $253USD. Grrr...

I am wearing my last pair of clean tightey whiteys, and am wearing backup wolverine socks (still green) as I only have one clean thorlo sock left. Must do laundry.

I just got a call from the repair shop. It's going to cost quite a bit to make the truck run like new. It is a foolish investment, but I'm going to do it anyway. I so don't want to deal with parting with it, and lesbians really dig old trucks.

2004-05-04 - Snacky Cakes
�Woo Hoo! It's (Hostess) Baseball season.

I love these things.

2004-05-03 - Oh so quiet
Once again, I have a weekend where I fail to make a single picture to garnish my journal.

I rode up near
Ukiah to go camping this weekend with mostly old biker guys. I had a good time. The place was wonderful; the food was wonderful; the company was a mixed bag.

I am starting to formulate a model concerning old biker values. Something to the effect that both "loud" and "obnoxious" are virtues. Not just the shiny eye candy really loud bikes, but more so the people. It really only takes one loud obnoxious person to make an impression. To have three in a small area beats the impression into the ground and then makes a fossil. If you can imagine, Lurch was the tamest of the three. Followed by the staple Gene. The new to Drew, ultra-uber-loud and obnoxious hyper-repetitive and mostly nonsensical Gypsy takes the cake.

I'm not sure how to spin this without sounding negative. I don't mean to be negative or judgmental, but still I've miffed more than a few people by writing out what I intended to be neutral observations.

I have a internal conflict wondering if I should continue to invest time with these folks who's values so blatantly conflict with my own. I do not dislike them. I do not think they are "bad" people or inferior in any way. They just seem to value things I don't.

As we were getting ready to roll out, Lurch extended an unexpected olive branch. I don't remember the words from our conversation, but the heavily drew-biased meaning that I interpreted was something like:
Lurch: I acknowledge that there is tension between us. Just know that I've got no problems with you, and I'm making an effort to make things right.
Drew: [Rather shocked] I don't dislike you. You are very loud and I am quiet. I tend to back off around loud.
Lurch: I understand, and respect that you value your quiet. I'm loud because I feel like I'm contributing by being the court jester and comic relief. It is expected of me.
Drew: I think I understand where you're coming from. I'm just different.
(I amused by how much my interpretation sounds like twelve step "program speak.") I have not decided what to do with the olive branch yet.

On the flip side of the coin from the loud, I was very impressed to meet Tony's husband John. In addition to being the archetypical daddy bear, he is a core of infinite calm. I continue to be amazed by the quiet, consistent nature he radiated during even the most outrageous of Gypsy's rantings. I would love to learn that kind of serenity. I very much enjoyed when he climbed up on the rock to visit with me and I laid my head on his ball belly while we just sat and listened to the birds and enjoyed the view.

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland