IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2003-09-01 - Home
Home again, Home again. Jiggity Pigg.

2003-08-28 - BonVorythm
Tom and I will be off to Badger in an hour. All seems to be in order, and with any luck, I'll be having dinner with
Tony tonight at the campsite.

Luckily, the utilities with their infinite care, opted to park a truck outside my window this morning at 4:30 with a hugh flashing strobe to gently awaken me before the PG&E truck got here at 7:30am and started jackhammering the street apart.

The gentle rhythm of city life.

Sigh.

Expect a report on Monday.

2003-08-27 - Badgeready
Today was all about getting ready for Badger.

It may seem incredibly butch to wash your shop rags, cum rags and thermals in the same load---and it is. The results aren't so butch when some of the shop rags are as bright red as they are cheap. I rewashed the thermals this morning in lots of bleach.

I spent a few hours cleaning
Tainn. I would say detailing, but I got a taste of what detailing is all about, and didn't have the tools or skill for it. There are a whole lot of spokes on a motorcycle wheel. Mags never looked better.

With the creative use of 2'x2' bungee net, I am able to hang my sleeping bag of the back of the bike, making lots more space up top. �Woo Hoo! More Stuff. I even have room for hiking cookware if I wanted it. Right now the saddle bags are nearly empty. I'm going to have to rethink part of the packing. All the electronic gadgets like my Palm and camera that I intended to put in my fab new tank bag I'll have to put else where. Magnetic tank bag, attached to Tainn with six wicked strong magnets. Bad for gadgets.

To bed, and to the east with the dawn. or 9:30.

2003-08-26 - Erigressive Alignment
Mars is gettin' close. I saw a grown man hit a young woman in the back with his closed fist on my way home on MUNI. Just yet another in a series of overtly aggressive behavior I've seen and felt lately. Strange.

Someone I love dearly was naive enough to give my e-mail address to some site that sent me a URL to a naked pic of a young Arnie. I am already getting spam on my almost pristine for nine months account. �Don't ever give a website someone else's e-mail for ANY reason! �EVER! No pictures, no greeting cards, no polls. These sites are just harvesting addresses to sell to spammers. �OK?

I had dinner with
John & Joe and Leigh tonight at Eric's on Church @ 27th. Good Stuff.

2003-08-26 - Real Guy
Last night on my way home from doing laundry, I ran into
Sister Betty with some hunk of manflesh in tow. It was MUNI Guy. OMG, He is real. This must mean the Big Blue House is real too. I can't believe Bear is selling it.

2003-08-25 - Drewmidor
Hmmm...you could go
here and pay out the ass for a travel humidor.

OR

You could go here, buy the box for a sixth of the price, line it with spanish cedar from old cigar boxes and throw in a humidifier. I like mine better.

2003-08-24 - Big End
Big busy weekend.

I rode lots, met nice men, had ice cream, did some chores for the Badger Flat run and got a hug from one of the five dreamiest men alive.

Weekend is ending too soon.

2003-08-21 - YayDay
I got paid to ride today. About six hours. �Yay!

Tainn picked the perfect time to shed her faulty ABS sensor--three days before the original factory warranty wears out. �Yay Tainn!

Joe the Barber trimmed my whiskers. He smells nice. �Yay Joe!

I had dinner with Merritt Steve at Chao and then we rode over to Mitchell's Ice Cream. Chocolate Caramel Crunch Sundae. �Yay!

2003-08-20 - DreamLand vs TV Land
Yesterday, I came home from work early, relaxed a bit and bedded down for a nap at 7pm. I woke up around midnight, rolled over and went back to sleep. Gettin' 11 hours of sleep was nice. Makes me wonder how much my life would be enriched if I recorded the TV shows that keep me up, and watched them during the early evening the next day. If all goes as planned, I'll be up at 5am tomorrow and headed for Salinas by 5:30. No TV tonight.

2003-08-20 - Oil Changing Spaces
�Anyone know of a place where I can change my oil? I want to change
Tainn's oil this weekend in prep for my Badger Flat trip. I can't change oil at the pi9 spot (rental agreement), and it's illegal to do it out on the street here in San Francisco. I've got every thing I need but a place to do the deed. (A center stand would be nice, but I think I can do without for now.)

2003-08-18 - Sticky Sweet Sheet Nothings
This evening Ken flew down to LA to visit with Kelli. The moment the door closed, Julia and I ran to his room and made sweet sticky love on his bed. Sigh. God, I love her. So much more than Ken.

This is one of the very few journal thumbnails that links to a bigger pic.

I'm off to bed to eat chocolate ice cream bon bons and while the night away with my sweet Julia.

2003-08-18 - Mispectations
This weekend very little turned out like I expected it to. Different, but no less good.

While heading to the
bbonfire I crossed paths with John & Joe on motorcycles. Way cool. I waited for them in the parkinglot and we walked to the bonfire together. They are so sweet. I was kinda unnerved to see so many BOSF folk at the bbonfire. Not sure why. Probably because I like to have my little dancing bear "world apart."

I popped by Vittorio's house on the way home where he was sickly and watching movies. We cuddled on the couch awhile before I wandered home.

First thing Saturday morning I rode north to visit the Boonville Boys. I had a great time. The ride there is incredible. I havn't been that well fed for years. (Cornish game hens for lunch and steak for dinner.) The company was friendly and comfortable. I'm looking forward to another trip up.

I got home Sunday morning just in time to show Spinach Dip Sara my starter bike. She says she'd like to buy, but not `til after labor day. �Woo Hoo! Fine by me--I'm in no hurry, and she'll make a good companion for little rebel.

Sunday night was UltraUltraViolet. I had a great time and was almost, but not quite, as fab as FunkyBearMartin. I love DJ Dragonfly. I stayed `til the dance floor was next to empty and had a great time dancing with Pyro Jeff and Halloween Rick.

2003-08-15 - FailedSafe
Once upon a time when the earth was new, I downloaded half a song before the connection went cold. It may be just a simple desire to have the unhavible. It might be the clever way the tracks are divided across the speakers or the subtle harmony sampling that sounds like a half cross between an analog modem and a cricket. It might be the 80s angst or vocals that might be a digitized voice or a synthesized one. I really like the half that I got and I want the whole thing. If any of you DJ people has a clue when I can find it, I'd much appreciate it. Try not to snicker when you figure out it is Safety Dance.
This is the incomplete file. The original file name was RMX-The_safety dance 2000.mp3 downloaded from a Moujik Peyoti, who seemed to only speak French when I begged him for the track.

2003-08-15 - Googlism
"drewbear is a red bearded technoshaman who likes lego toys"

Cool, and right on the money.

Find your
Googlism.

2003-08-15 - Friday Five Wired
From
Friday Five.
1. How much time do you spend online each day?
Maybe 2� hours on average.

2. What is your browser homepage set to?
SF Gate, the city's local news hound.

3. Do you use any instant messaging programs? If so, which one(s)?
I use Trillian chat client, which taps into Yahoo! (DrewBearCA), AIM (DrewBearSF), ICQ (19177889), MSN (DrewBearRed), and IRC (which is the only one I don't use).

4. Where was your first webpage located?
ATT.Net, which is where my pages currently live. I'm seriously thinking of getting a real host in October/November.

5. How long have you had your current website?
The current design has been up since October 23 of 2002. The only parts of the planned design that never made it to the website is a calendar page with my schedule, and a "Love" page with writings about what I want in a partner. I would do the calendar page in a heartbeat if I could figure a way to automate it to pull from palm database. I couldn't think of a fair way to do the Love page, so I scrapped it. I am also open minded enough to accept that what I think I may want in a partner is not what I really want, or what is right for me.

2003-08-14 - -
Pierceing through the shimmering bend and squeezed between the orange. Ready to delight old eyes with a childish heart.

2003-08-14 - DrewBuckStop
The boss called me this morning from Baltimore asking about virus fighting yesterday. She seemed to think that the unpatched uninoculated PC's infecting each other should be my problem instead of the PC guy's. I told her I am happy to help out, but disagreed that it was my area of responsibility. "but," she says, "the virus travels across the network." �Duh! So does EVERY fucking thing we do. I guess I'm responsible for everything now.

2003-08-13 - Milestones
I missed my Dad's birthday yesterday--or at least didn't remember `til it was too late to do anything about it. You'd be surprised if you knew how many US Marshalls scolded me today. I have no reason to believe that the forgetting caused the scolding, but it would be cool if it did.

I got up at o dark thirty today to go South and fight viruses. Seems none of the PC people ever bothered to patch their windows. Not even on their own desks. Funny that--my machines were fine.

On my way home,
Tainn rolled over to 4000mi. 3000 of those we did together since June 14. Hmmm...1500mi a month isn't a bad pace.

2003-08-12 - Nemesi Miney Moe
After
Sister Betty the Compassionate's excellent conflict resolution skills fixed the non-existent long standing animosity between myself and Jeff Glover, I find myself lacking a lighting rod to dish jealous petty sardony upon. The obvious choice would be FunkyBearMartin, who is good looking, amazingly popular, stylish, funky, furry, stocky, solid, new to town, so moving in on my red whiskered fetish territory, and everyone loves. EVERYONE, it seems including me. If you haven't seen his naked eyes yet, keep watching. (I think he keeps them covered up so often `cause they are stolen from angels and he's still on the lam from the powers that be--but you didn't hear it from me.)

2003-08-12 - Missed Trifecta
Yesterday I had my big day in court. I was not sued by the plaintiff that did not show up. The Judge dismissed the case "with prejudice" which means that if the plaintiff comes up with a good excuse why she wasn't there, the case could be reopened. That sucks. Win or Lose, I was hoping for closure.

My business trip to LA/Pasadena in September was canceled due to budgetary restrictions. While I am I'm deeply disappointed, having a trip canceled sure beats getting laid off.

I was supposed to ride down to Salinas today to meet with a contractor. I'm glad I called ahead to confirm. He is not able to make it and I would have had to insincerely explain to my boss how much I hated the 5 hour round trip ride down there for nothing. Hopefully I can meet him later in the week.

2003-08-11 - Shut
Seems I keep pissing people off by running my mouth. Either that or people keep pointing out that I'm quiet.

�Hello! I'm quiet becasue I'm trying to keep myself from saying stupid things.

I often fail.

2003-08-09 - Big Rides
I'm not in the mood to write. I've been doing too much lately for telling of it, and I'm not much for logging introspection right now.

One thing. Went to Santa Cruz Beach Boardwalk for the first time today. Lots of bears, including some that I love dearly. I hate having to ride rides alone--much more than is rational considering it is really not that big of a deal. I think it is so worrying for me because it magnifies my fears that I spend so much time and energy following my own personal bliss that I'm going to end up a lonely old spinster. Big thoughts that need many more brainshares than I have to invest right now.

2003-08-09 - Forgiven
�Woo Hoo! I made my triumphant return to the Lone Star tonight. It was the first non-BOSF trip I've made there since I got 86ed after refusing the advances of the SF Fire Marshall. I seem to be completely forgiven.

2003-08-07 - Afternoon Rope
It's been a productive week for me. I didn't get a regular day off this pay period as I'm taking a class this week. The subsequent extra time I'm getting in afternoon is great. I'm also getting excited about the Badger Flat Run and fleshing out my upcoming (September 6-14) trip to LA/San Diego.

Ba-Da-Bingo tonight with John & Joe and Jeff & Jake. Should be great fun. Western night. I'm thinkin' union suit, jeans, overcoat and hat. �rope?

2003-08-06 - -
Swimming through a sea of air. I cannot see my toes.

2003-08-04 - Tunnel Arlen Wonder
Sunday was set aside for Merritt Steve. I wanted to ride up and see Tahoe. Steve didn't I'm glad, `cause I had a rough night Saturday and would have been miserable. Instead I rode over and we had breakfast at some surealicana coffeeshop on Lake Merritt, then opted for a nap before riding.

We rode East on 24 through Caldecott tunnel--which was a treat. I love tunnels. Then we did lots of twisties. I love twisties. We came out near the junction of 580 and 680, and Steve led me to the Arlen Ness shop. The bike museum was almost as much fun as watchin' the men. That si saying alot. Next time I go I'll take the camera in and get some shots of the beautiful bikes...and maybe sneak some shots of the men.

Steve and I had lunch in Walnut Creek. It was so fuckin' wonderbread white. Jews were swarthy, and the Italian guy was downright "colored." Not somewhere I'd choose to live.

I dropped Steve off in Oakland, then rode around the South end of the bay. In addition to gaining some enlightenment that may help me corner, I also managed to complete a right of passage. A particular trick that at last discussion, Tony hasn't managed yet. I did it twice more on the way home just because I could.

2003-08-04 - Legal League Landscape
My consultation with counsel was a flop. I got to deep pockets, inc and the rep was not there. They handed me a folder, sent me on my way and said they'd call. OK. Their money, not mine.

I came home and stumbled into Big Vince at the taqueria on my block. We spent the bulk of the afternoon and evening together. We went to see
League of Extraordinary Gentlemen. Incredible sets and attention to visual detail. Eye Candy. I got to hold his big strong hand.

We were eating breakfast the following morning at the Cove when DaninCA found me and demanded a photoshoot. Dan wasted a whole roll of film on me before wandering over the hill to shoot Moof. Last I heard, Dan was six bears short of a calendar. If you want pictures taken of you, give him a holler.

2003-08-01 - Friday Five Mornings
From
The Friday Five.
1. What time do you wake up on weekday mornings?
6:30ish. I used to wake up naturally at the same time every morning, but now I'm reluctant to claim that as it seems to coincide with the street cleaners and the garbage men.

2. Do you sleep in on the weekends? How late?
I don't sleep in on weekends unless I go dancing the night before or have company--then I sleep `til about 9am. Otherwise I'm usually up early making breakfast, doing chores or out riding.

3. Aside from waking up, what is the first thing you do in the morning?
Go blind/Make it rain/Grow hair on my palms/Saw the morning wood.

4. How long does it take to get ready for your day?
`bout 45 minutes, including "quiet time." aka "fuck around and procrastinate time."

5. When possible, what is your favorite place to go for breakfast?
Hmmm...in bed. With company. I don't have a favorite restaurant for breakfast, but my favorite breakfast is steel cut oats oatmeal. If it didn't take so long to make, I'd probably have it every morning.

2003-08-01 - Mistakes
Grrrr...having a hard time at work today. I made mistakes, got ruffled about them, and made more mistakes. Made an ass of myself.

On another note...�Which is the real issue? 1)Feeling/Thinking some given way, or 2)Being tactlessly blunt about it in my writings. Methinks if there are issues, they should be addressed at the heart of things, and not at the symptoms. Writings being a symptom. I must think more on this.

On the topic of expressing oneself, Madonna advises, "Don't go for second best, Baby." Madonna can also get pretty much anything she wants. �How else would she be able to get me to sire her second child? What I need is some big strong hands...

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland