IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2003-06-02 - Stink(s)
I am so low mojo right now. This is unusual as I am usually very "on" during the quickening/sailor moon. The charm is just not on. Grrr... No luring men to my bed. Which is a shame, `cause I could SO use a sleepover cuddle buddy.

Wrist is getting better, and I have confirmed that the motorcycle runs. I might try to ride it over to Golden Gate Cycles sometime this week and order replacement parts. I'm pretty sure I can do all the repairs myself. Go me.

I finally caved into Ken's constant badgering to join
Friendster. I would go on about how cool it is, but as I see that most of ya'al are there already, I won't.

Ken's birthday Friday. I got him an Oreck Super Air 8. It is both a generous and selfish gift as it will enhance my life as well as his. He's pretending to like it so far. I'm loving mine. Much better than the Kenmore I got a few months back. I can't hear the thing at all when it's on it's "Silence" setting, and even the medium setting is quieter than the Kenmore's quiet setting. Better product. The house now reeks of the "blooming jasmine" scent cartridges as we are trying to de-scent them so we can add our own scent oils to them.

Generally speaking. Right Now, the house reeks of the stink the utility adds to natural gas so you know when your 20something LA roommate chic leaves the stove burner running for no reason and about blows up the house.

2003-05-30 - Friday Five LifeChoices
From
Friday Five.

1. What do you most want to be remembered for?
Cleverness & Joy

2. What quotation best fits your outlook on life?
What signifies knowing the names, if you know not the natures of things.

3. What single achievement are you most proud of in the past year?
The construction of my train station. The one I've neither taken pictures of nor shared with the general public.

4. What about the past ten years?
Breaking away from my parents and making a life for myself. About ten years ago now I packed up a few bags and flew to Miami.

5. If you were asked to give a child a single piece of advice to guide them through life, what would you say?
Be what you are--everything you need is already hardwired into you, you just have to trust yourself.

2003-05-30 - Hip Sugar Pass
Mom came through her hip surgery well, and is recovering quickly. It was nice to hear her happy and not in pain. She's already contemplating a trip out here to visit.

Ken's birthday started at midnight, but as he is currently predisposed, I am not able to give him his birthday gift. I made rice crispy style treats out of some generic captain crunch berry cereal per his request earlier tonight. They turned out well. Super sugar blasts.

I'm not looking forward to work tomorrow. Not sure why, just dreading it. Friday pass over me. The weekend can't come too soon.

2003-05-29 - Finding Feebas
I continue to get many hits looking for how to catch feebas. Details on my
Pok�mon page. The dark of it is lots of fishing on Route 119. Catch six `mon in each block and move to the next `til you find `em. Took me about 75 blocks of fishing, and I finally found them just above the waterfall near the weather center on the leftmost block.

2003-05-28 - Wait Last
Per the advice of concerned parites, I went to the ER last night to get my wrist checked out. Got there at 18:45ish left at 22:07 with an ace bandage and a doctor's opinion that she didn't think I broke anything. I used the three hours of mind numbing waiting by finishing
Deep Wizardry by Diane Duane. Good Read. While the she doesn't make it too obvious, two of the adult/advisory wizards are a gay couple. Go Tom and Carl.

I stopped by Blue and had a late chicken breast dinner. Body wants foul protein to heal.

When I got home I found Kelli had left me a Pikachu Party video. Awww. I could have repaid the favor when they locked themselves out of the house in the wee hours of the morning and tried to wake me up to get me to open the door. I hear tell that they had several folks throwin' shit at my windows and calling me on both phones, and I didn't wake up. �Woo Hoo! Soundproof.

I drove down to San Jose for work today. Sprained right wrist + 5 speed. �Ouch! Fucking Ouch. I picked up Ken's birthday present on the way home. I wrapped it up and have displayed it as to excite and tease him. Snicker.

My very last BOSF event as Activities Coordinator was tonight. Dinner at Fresca in West Portal. Ice Cream at Double Rainbow afterwards. Mmmmm...Double Rainbow Green Tea.

2003-05-27 - Sand Trap
More than anything else, wet MUNI rails have been the surface that scared me most on the bike. Now after a few thousand miles of riding they came to get me, but not like I expected. Seems some happy MUNI driver decided to dump about five gallons of fine slick shuffle board quality sand on the polished slick rails. It got me. DrewBear's first spill. I was within rolling distance of my usual parking spot, and I did. Initial inspection shows the need for a new left tail light and rubber on the shifter cover. Scraped left knee and badly sprained right wrist. Not sure how I managed the wrist. �Bonus? Newly distressed jeans. I wonder how I can set the almost nonexistent blood stains around the torn knee.

2003-05-26 - Dealer Springs
I rode down to the Mountainview BMW/Triumph Dealership today and lusted through the window. Mmmmm...they are so so pretty. Must have one. Must also go back when the shop is actually open.

I took a wanderlust detour home and decided to see where that little leg of Skyline Blvd goes and if it connects with anything further up North. I found Crystal Springs Reservoir Dam. Wow. It is beautiful. I'll have to go back and check more of it out.

2003-05-26 - Snot Redux
I've had a mostly boring week as it was mostly a snotty sick thing hiding indoors and sleeping alot. And playing Pok�mon. Lots of Pok�mon.

Skipped Potluck Thursday night. Drove down to Salinas for work on Friday. Saturday and Sunday were overcast and cool. I rarely left the house Saturday, and then only got as far as the coffee shop. Yesterday/Sunday I hydrated/napped in preparation for dancing at Sanctuary last night. It was great. I should go dancing more often. I don't know why I don't. Sea of furry love. Aside from the lingering snot thing, the body feels great.

Nice out today. I think I shall go riding.

2003-05-26 - Finally Finished Sorta
I finally bagged my 200th and final Pok�mon this morning. RegiIce was the last. Maybe I can go back to living a normal life now.

2003-05-22 - Newsycle
When I looked in my camera media to grab a picture for this morning's entry, I saw what I forgot about Tuesday night. I got bundled up to go deliver a picture disc and weekend cash payback to Jim & Jack, and the Rebel was just not wanting to run. If I didn't constantly baby the throttle it would stall out. I let it stall and did a quick check. Seems the crack heads made another attempt at my sparkplugs--this time they must have been stopped or chased off. The wire was pulled off on one side and some new scratch marks laid, the other side was intact. Thankfully plugging the wire bag to the plug was enough to get me running. Picture was taken after re-plugging and riding.

Must get garage space in Castro if I want a decent bike. That, and some of the bikes I've seen I wouldn't have the heart to buy and keep on the street. Like the
BMW R1200C Rick is selling. Sweet bike. Nice enough that it needs to sleep indoors.

In other motorcycle related news, the trip odometer is now up to 130mi. The guy that sold me the bike said it would do 60mi a tank. After a couple months of doing mileage and looking up the capacity, I calculated 147mi. Think I will keep doing short trips around town `til I have to switch over on to reserve. I want to know how far he'll go when I sell him. I also need to replace the rear reflector assembly. It was a casuality of the previous owners Market & Debouce spill. The part is about $40 and I think I can do the wiring myself. Not sure if I'm going to bother with the impotent mirrors.

2003-05-22 - Sickly Ramblings
Something happened Tuesday that I was going to write about, but I forgot. I went to work sick and wandered around like a zombie all day. I had dinner with
Leigh--Tomato Soup and Grilled Cheese at The Cove, then went home and took a nap. I woke up around bedtime and couldn't get back to sleep, I grabbed my GameBoy and played a little Pok�mon. Much to my amazement, I caught Latios. I didn't sleep well all night, and called in sick yesterday. I spent the bulk of the day in bed sleeping reading, and playing Pok�mon, and only left the house once to pick up some prints at the corner photo shop and get something to eat. I wasn't hungry, but it was 4pm and I hadn't eaten anything all day. The half burrito I did eat was good. Hmmmm...going nowhere here. As I have not prepared a damn thing, I'll have to renig my RSVP and skip the potluck tonight. MarK also Eed reminind me that I haven't done anything about BOSF dinner night next week. Bad Bear. Just wants to sleep.

2003-05-20 - ParkingSnot Easy
Monday I was poor & sick all day. The original plan called for visiting the
BMW/Triumph dealership in Mountain View, but I didn't think they'd let me go out for a test drive without, say a drivers license or a credit card... I went out to move my truck out of a 9-11am Monday cleaning spot, and was disgusted to see I had a ticket. Seems my residential parking permit expired on April 30. I spent the rest of the morning running a gauntlet of bureaucratic hoops to get new parking permits for both my vehicles. This is a real trick when you have no cash, credit cards or driver's license AND they've moved the office. Grrr...It was just like the bad dreams I have with endless bureaucracies. Brian stopped by with my wallet after work. I was hoping he'd stay for dinner, but he is sickly too and went right home. I gave Leigh a holler and found he was just around the corner at Orphan Andy's having dinner. I popped down to join him. After dinner the coldish thing I've got really kicked in. I'm all snot, congestion and ache now.

2003-05-20 - Yosemite Sunday
Sunday we went to the Ahwahnee Lodge for a fancy brunch. The building is amazing. All timber frame and stone. I loved it. A bit big for my tastes. I've always had little fantasies about having a little stone house in the wood.

The drive back was mostly uneventful. �Did I mention my traveling companion Jack was sick the whole weekend? Coughing and congested. I think I've got it now. I was hoping to get ahold of Brian when I got home, and then ride over to get my wallet. I touched base with him too late in the evening to do anything about it, and he agreed to stop by Monday after work.

When I checked my mail for the weekend, it seems that five different folks send me a link to
this Mac that was refurbished with LEGO bricks. Thanks Eric, Terry, Leigh, Ru and Jeff.

2003-05-20 - Yosemite Saturday
Saturday we toured the park as a group.
Golden State Bears, Golden Gate Guards, and some Satyrs. Seems its a tradition to ride up and down the parking lot once and put your bike in the lineup before suiting up, etc. I was reminded how much I dislike Harley sounds, and also that BMW sounds give me a chubby. RedBiker Chris was riding his BMW K1200LT. It was SO sweet sounding. I would have loved to ride bitch, but heard Chris had already turned down someone else saying it was a new bike for him, and he didn't care for a passenger. The bikes went first, followed by cars. We stopped in at BridalVeil and then went up to valleyview for group pics. From there the group broke up. I was in the Presidential Car (grin) and we stopped by Yosemite Falls Meadows, the Happy Isles, and hiked almost up to Verdant falls before the group gave up and turned back. Grrrr... We lunched at Yosemite Lodge and headed back to base.

That evening one of the senior Saytrs asked me that damned "�Why aren't you married yet?" question. Then proceeded to interview me, presumably gathering data for matchmaking. When gay men ask me if I am "healthy" and mean "HIV-" it always rubs me the wrong way. He asked. I lied (I am healthy) knowing full well that is not what he meant. I felt so bad about it that I tagged him down the next day and apologized for lying. That was so fucking awkward. Now that I've revealed myself to him as both "leper" and liar, somehow I don't think he'll be making any matches for me.

2003-05-20 - Yosemite Friday
Friday morning just after writing my entry, Jack called saying he was up and ready for me to help moving stuff around. I had my backpack prepacked and was dressed, I just needed to stock my pockets and go. I could not fin my wallet anywhere. After ten minutes of frantic looking, I called Jack to tell him I couldn't find it, but I would be right up to help him, and wander back down to look more. No sooner than I was off the phone with Jack than
Brian called telling me he'd taken my wallet with him by mistake. �D'oh! It was over in the East Bay and not on our route. I was planning on taking the motorcycle over and picking it up, and heading to Yosemite by myself. Jack said he'd spot me the money instead, and not to go through the trouble.

The ride to Yosemite was mostly uneventful. Jack kept popping in various cassette tapes of classical music from a cassette tape holder above his visor. We reached ultimate hokeyness when he switched tapes quickly, headed over into the left lanes, and said something like, "You can't just cruise along in the slow lane to Mozart." The whole effect was enhanced by the fact that he didn't turn off his turn signal when we got to the fast lane. I didn't mention it. It just seemed right to have it blinking as we bustled down the road to Mozart.

2003-05-16 - Pack Pok� Real
I had the day off yesterday and today. I spent the bulk of yesterday rearranging, doing chores, laundry and packing for my Yosemite trip this weekend. �Woo Hoo! Should be fun. I leave soon and won't be back, nor probably post anything, `til Monday.

Brian came over last night for dinner, pok�mon and some eclipse watching. I really enjoyed myself. In addition to the great company, I was able to confirm that not only is he solid, but quite solid. And smells nice too. Mmmm... Must invite him over again...

2003-05-14 - Maple Hostess
Tonight was dinner with
John & Joe, Leigh and two other generic Canadians I don't know. We had dinner at Chenery Park in Glenn Park. The food was good. The saucy redhead hostess was the bomb. After dinner, John & Joe, being the sweet wonderful men they are, walked me back to my bike. On the backstreet behind the restaurant we ran into the redhostess who was sucking on a cigarette and engaged us in witty fun conversation. I felt like the bad girls who smoked behind the bus garage. I got big warm hugs from the boys and headed home.

Ken had some fun friends over so I started a batch of cookies with hopes of having some finished before they left. In stead they left and Ken decided to help. Now I know the kick assed coconut chocolate cookies he conceived were sheer dumb luck. Maple Marshmallow Chocolate aren't nearly as good. And to think I just wanted to make plain ol' two chocolates chips cookies.

I saw Gus Mac Roich on Guerrero on the way to dinner. I must get my own fuzzcap so I may be recognized in return.

2003-05-13 - Fuck
I just got another huge project dumped on me because a co-worker was "too busy." She has been too busy for the last three years to implement the Citrix/VPN service she was hired to, and so now I get it. I wasn't so much told as it was mentioned in an offhand matter of way during our three hour team meeting this morning. This is after the boss chooses me to be the wireless PDA for corporate e-mail lacky two weeks ago. My mind is still spinning and I don't understand why she keeps dumping all this new shit on me, then needles me when I can get my core work done. They are still dragging thier feet not wanting to spend $4700 to replace the failing-almost-daily-now switches in San Jose, but want wireless PDA e-mail and Citrix/VPN remote access. I suppose they will want me to set it up for free.

Just yesterday I was in motorcycle purchase mode, and now I wonder if I want save the money in case I need to quit my job. How prorities change.

2003-05-13 - Monday Chomp
After months of hot sunny afternoon naps, DrewBear doing what DrewBear Does Best and general dust and debris, the duvet cover could wait no longer. When I bought it I checked to see that it was cotton, and just assumed it was machine washable. When I went to wash it the first time, the tag said different so I've been trying to spot clean it since. After this weekend, I had to give in and go for a all out cleaning.

Monday was my regular day off, so I buzzed down to Target to pick up some Woolite and thermals. The thermals are for motorcycling. I got two shirts in January, but lost the nice $8USD green one during IBR. With my laundry cycle, the remaining one just isn't enough to cover the job. After quite a bit of looking at Target, it occurred to me that the rest of the Northern Hemisphere is experiencing "Spring." Thermals are no longer "in season" there. Thermals are always in season in San Francisco. I swear we can have as big a temperature change inside of one day as we do from season to season. In any case, Target sings to the season of the larger world and was largely thermaless. I grabbed my Woolite, some other cleaning supplies, restocked on candles and headed back to the `hood. Arriving with just enough time to swing by Jamba Juice and get a freshly cleaned Monday spot.

The Woolite washing did not go well. I stretched the cover out in the shower to drip dry and still saw all the protein and grease deposits. I gave up and took it to the coin op. Cold delicate wash with Woolite and and low heat dry. It seems no worse for the washing. Next time I may try two washings. Cold first for the protein, then Hot for the oil.

While waiting for the wash I wandered around the `hood, ravishing in the delights of grocery store sushi and StarBear tea. I popped up to
Worn Out West to see about getting some pre-owned thermals. I ran into my friend De there. When we lived on the East Coast, we were 200mi away and I saw him about once a month. Now we live two blocks away and I'm lucky to see him once every six months or so. We had a nice chat which confirmed the lasting nature of friendship. We went well beyond small talk very quickly and into the more meaningful things in life like bowel movements. [grin] I love my life.

2003-05-13 - Sunday Bite
Sunday morning I woke up early, finished up doing what DrewBear Does Best, and wandered down to Market & Duboce for a Jamba Juice. My body is starting to expect them on a regular basis. I suppose it's better than wanting ice cream, coffee or donuts.

I wandered back home and did some maintenance chores. Most sorting and putting away last month's new LEGO purchases, and building for a bit. I also finished up Diane Duane's
So You Want to be a Wizard. Good read. I've already started the second book in the series.

I got to have lunch with Leigh and his dreamy new love interest John. In addition to being very easy on the the eyes, John deeply reminds me of my favorite Aunt's best friend Steve who was always very kind to me. Well, Steve with an UberBear upgrade. I kept avoiding eye contact as it is my nature to flirt. Bad Drew. I love Leigh dearly and trust that he knows my nature well enough to either think nothing of the flirting, or just not give me an opportunity to make an ass of myself.

2003-05-13 - Saturday Bite
After an exhausting night of doing what DrewBear Does Best, I got a call from Beefur Joe Saturday morning wondering where I was. Seems he sent me an e-mail with plans for a morning ride that I didn't check for. Thanks fully John & Joe and Dan were gracious enough to wait for me while I threw clothes on and rode over. We all rode down to Alices for brunch. Having learned from previous experiences that I am not the Alpha Bear, it was fun being in the know and watching Dan do dumb shit and jump around while I held tightly with the "pack." Particularly fun when Dan broke formation and buzzed ahead only to frantically have to cut across three lanes of traffic when the pack went else where. [snicker]

When we got back to the Castro, we had a red bear appreciation reception at StarBears, then I headed home for a nap. The afternoon sun was beaming right on my bed and I took a nice long warm naked sunshine nap. Hmmmm...Aside from the sunburn, it was great.

2003-05-12 - Bite Friday
Must update. I don't know why I've not been wanting to write this weekend, but I try to do it in smaller, more digestible chunks.

Friday I had lunch date with
Sister Betty at Kells. I was running a little early on the way, and was taking pictures. I took a picture of the pictured building, then turned around and Saw Wolfe talking pictures of the same building from around the corner. I'm assuming he also took pictures of better things that day as it has not shown up on his website. (or he knew my pic would be SO much more fab)

2003-05-09 - Internet Presence Report
I've been getting alot of hits lately from folks lookin' to catch Feebas. I've updated my
Pok�webex with the info.

I recently got my ten thousandth hit at DrewBear.Com. Leigh was the hit, and he got a screen capture of the counter. Pretty cool seeings that those are direct website hits not including the regular LiveJournal and DiaryLand readers who don't access my website to read my blog.

I'm now the top five hits for DrewBear on both Yahoo! and Google searches. Though I'm still not getting DrewBear.Com to come up on a search of my real name. Metatags, it seems, are useless.

2003-05-09 - Friday Five Organize
Questions from
Friday Five
1. Would you consider yourself an organized person? Why or why not?
In most aspects yes. I like every thing to have it's place, and be in it's place. Unfortunatly, I don't have the space I need to be as organized as I'd like. ie:I have more DVDs/PS2 games that the rack will hold, more books than will fit on the shelves, more papers than file space and more Bionicle parts than will fit in the neatly labeled Bionicle bin under my bed.

2. Do you keep some type of planner, organizer, calendar, etc. with you, and do you use it regularly?
I use a Palm m505 ususally in the right thigh pocket of my carhartts. I use it all the time for contact info, frequently but not as much as I should for scheduling, and also for a shitload of other data like frequently used URL's, RGB color values, recipes, poetry, lyrics, etc.

3. Would you say that your desk is organized right now?
Both home and work desks are littered with current projects, unfiled things and distracting toys. It takes me about 15 minutes to clean the work desk, and 5 to clean the home desk. I keep things out as a visual reminder, que of to dos and visual organizer.

4. Do you alphabetize CDs, books, and DVDs, or does it not matter?
Hardly ever. In all cases, I've got `em sorted by genre first. My files are sorted by common group, then groups put in the file cabinet with most used up front, least used in back. LEGO bricks are sorted by genere or type, sub type, and if in sufficient quantity then color.

5. What's the hardest thing you've ever had to organize?
Kitchen stuff. I do a poor enough job to begin with, and do an especially poor job when I'm sharing the space. As much as I love to cook and bake, I don't have a knack for pantry organization.

2003-05-08 - Dorthy &Mary Ann
Sometimes I have those moments were everything is right and I just love my life. I got blessed with lots of `em tonight. The best came when I was skipping down the terraces on my way home, cornered around the top of Saturn Steps with my Pyrex carry swinging gaily in hand, and everything just seemed SO right.

The night is beautiful. Lots of wonderful guys at a potluck, including Armistead Maupin who was there with Max who SO gave me his number last month. I keep my mouth shut so as not to gush when I see him. (Armistead, not Max) As the evening wound down, I ended up in the corner of the wrap around couch with my stocking feet resting in Big Vince's lap, and Halloween Rick snuggled up under my arm. Brute Rudy and Red Mark curled up on the floor in front us. All watching Polyester and sharing the two smell-o-vision cards. It was heaven. Hugs all around when the movie ended, then skipping down the terraces and garden stairs in the beautiful spring evening to my neighborhood. When home came into sight, something possessed me to look up and I saw my first star of the night next to the waxing sailor moon. Right before I started to make my wish, I realized I was standing under the big rainbow flag. Sometimes I really love my life.

2003-05-06 - Ungettable
Today during lunch, I went to check out the newly relocated Farmers' Market at the Ferry Building. I fully intended to write all about it, and took some nice pictures of the inside of the newly renovated but not quite occupied building. My walk back to work ruined all that.

�You've seen those newly fashionable chic denim jeans and skirts with the thighs worn out, right? I can kind of get that. They move your eyes around and make some texture and probably many other ultra fashionable things I don't get at all.

So I see this attractive guy walking in front of me, also heading across the Ferry Plaza and back into the Financial District. I checked him out with the usual head to toe scan. �Distressed ass jeans! �What the fuck is that all about? Given, he had a really nice round butt, but I don't get why he felt he needed distressed ass jeans. Ummm...I don't know. I just don't get it. It's not even distressed the right way to suggest any particularly distressing action. �Any Thoughts?

2003-05-05 - Chip Off Buck
I made cookies tonight. The basic chocolate chip variety. I was alone so I got to choose the mix. Being alone also makes it more of the practice I love about cookie makin'. I had some nice alone time for thinkin' Mostly random insights that don't lend themselves well to words, let alone string well into good reading. The thought did cross my mind that maybe I should find a way to make joy for folks that didn't involve so many calories. Then realized that Erin was getting more calories than anyone, and I like the thought of fattening her up. �Moo!

Ken is still off in New York. Kelli tells me he's having a wonderful time. I'm lookin' forward to his return.

Every guy named Buck that I meet seems to be good folks. I wonder if there's something to that. Hmmm...random thoughts again...

2003-05-05 - Sister Plug
Sister Betty Does will be going on a nationwide road trip tour in her Mini Cooper later this month. She's asking for fractional penny by the mile pledges to go to The Sisters' Economic and Social Justice Scholarship Fund and American Friends Service Committee. Even if you don't intend to pledge, a 6 foot 5ish man in nun drag touring the country in a Mini is worth popping over to read about.

2003-05-04 - Get Dance
Sometimes I get frustrated with knowing where I want to be, but not knowing how to get there. It seems if something is just a matter of hard work, I can roll up my sleeves and be there in no time. Instead, I don't know how to get there from here, and end up just going and easy route to someplace better than I am. Better that than the times when I try too hard and spin my wheels going nowhere and make a fool of myself. Grrr...that was incredibly vague. I guess it will need to be for now. One of the challenges of a public journal is trying to write substantial, therapeutic, self improving material without putting any one else in my life in an awkward spot.

I went out to
Mass tonight and am SO glad I did. I had the usual stalling out while getting ready, and had to remind myself that I always have a good time, and I'm always oh-so-glad I went--even when I thought I wouldn't have a good time. Sea of Furry Love. It suddenly occurs to me to explain to the general public that in DrewBear World, Mass is a Sunday dance club and not a religious service. Ummm, not a Catholic one anyway. When I was in Junior High, I wanted to dance like Molly Ringwald in the Breakfast Club. Now, I want to be able to dance like Kevin. [School Girl Giggle]

I'm going to start looking for upgrade motorcycle and possibly garage space in the Castro. I'm looking for a tall bike with more than 800cc--ugly and used if I have to street park it and a parking space in the Castro for less than $100 a month. Yeah, I think I'm gonna have to street park the new bike, but it can't hurt to look for parking.

2003-05-04 - Alpha Bear Blues
Friday night, I went to see
R. Buckminster Fuller: The History (and Mystery) of the Universe at Project Artaud with John & Joe and John's Sister. It was a nifty show and I always love getting to spend time with John & Joe. During a quick dinner before the show we were worried about time. When I thought everyone was fished and everything was paid up I stood up getting ready to leave. No one else did. I almost giggled. I wasn't the Alpha Bear, and should have waited. It was nice not being the Alpha Bear.

The next morning was the BOSF brunch cruise. I was all braced to hate every moment, and was delighted that I actually enjoyed myself. I was worried that since only six guys were going, it would bomb. It turned out that six guys worked out really well. We all got to share the same conversation, and no one got left out. The food, tour and weather was also great. At one point someone got up from the table and announced he was going about deck to enjoy the view. As he got up and left no one else moved. Aaaaahhh...I almost forgot. I was Alpha Bear again. [sigh] Everyone else followed me up on deck.

2003-05-02 - Queerisauris Scandalus
For the past couple of days I've been whupped. First my body wants enormous portions of fish and beef, then it wants twice the sleep. I think it's up to something.

I got home from work last night, took a quick half hour nap, read mail, did chores, and hopped onto ICUII for awhile. I popped down to the The IBR funds distribution at the GLBTXYZ Center at 19:30. We gave $8000 a piece to the
The National Center for Lesbian Rights, who does a good deal of work with "family" court cases and defining and shoring up the equal rights of queer folks; The Aurora Dawn Foundation, who makes homes for folks with AIDS and no other place to live; and the The Center, the San Francisco queer community center that insists on calling itself "Lesbian Gay Bisexual and Transgender Community Center" to be politically correct. (Heaven forbid we can all agree on one word to describe us all...that might imply some kind on unity.) Jeff Glover was there taking pictures, doing short informational interviews for his column and going on about his digs at me in the Spectrum. I think he thinks people actually read it. [snicker] I don't. It is much more scandalous and rewarding to hear about it second or third hand. Now if Sister Betty, Jon Carroll or Andrew Ross wanted to take digs at me THEN I'd be sure to read.

I came home with every intention of having a real dinner, doing some webwork and reading. Instead I fell asleep with my clothes on on top of the sheets with all the lights on. I woke up about a quarter 'til twelve and shut everything off, and slept through `til morning. The body wants sleep. And Beef. Must have beef for lunch...

2003-05-01 - Busy Bullets
Busy week this week. Monday night was beard trim. Tuesday Dinner with
Leigh and Gilmore Girls. Last night I was SUPPOSED to make mushroom pie with the shitake I got at the farmers' market yesterday, but fell asleep when I got home and played pok�mon when I woke up. Tonight is both the IBR check distribution and Ba-Da-Bingo. Unfortunatly, I'll be at the check distribution. Tomorrow will be dinner and a show with John & Joe and kin. Brunch Saturday with Matthew. Maybe Saturday afternoon I can make a batch of cookies. We are SO out of cookies.

Data points of interest for this week:
* My boss told me that we may be consolidating services with a sister unit, and suggested I start entrenching myself in the UNIX end of things as well as the Novell. I thought my good gov'ment job was immune to the bad economy. But then the Bushes spend all our taxes three times over on "Wars of Republican Aggression" I guess they can't afford to pay plain folks salaries to provide services to plain folks.
* Richard made me cookies.
* The new LEGO designer series arrived in the mail. Some wicked cool designs and many model ideas for every set. Very good play value.
* Some of the Classis Move Monster LEGO sets I fell in love with last summer are on deep discount on Amazon.
* I'm having one of those phases where my life seems very busy, but not very "full."
* I've been craving protein like I can't believe this week. Beef and Fish.
* I've been feeling too warm when I crawl into bed lately, and have been going without covers or sticking my feet out.
* Yesterday Arkanjil sent me some great pics of me mud wrestling at the Eagle last summer.
* I started restoring again a couple weeks ago, and have folks curious about it, so I'm working on a restoration section to explain the whole deal.

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland