IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2004-04-29 - Drewtoids
I've snagged them all and shall ascend the steps to Ho-oh.

Size 18. $15USD. Fab.

If you want to make soft squishy carmel instead of the rock hard stuff, you need to use a little butter.

My Birkenstocks are making my already beefy calves bigger and harder.

2004-04-29 - Cocktail Camp
I chatted with Mark last night, and we are going to hookup somehow next weekend instead of waiting another four weeks. This is good. I'm likin' him.

I started on the new cocktail that arrived in the mail yesterday. My body doesn't seem too happy about the change, but I think we'll deal. Don't tell my body, but if I didn't use it for sex and cuddles, I would SO transcend and ditch this sorry meat suit.

I'm headin' up North to go camping for the weekend, and haven't dug any of my gear out yet. That should make for a busy night tonight. The plan is to have everything out and ready tonight, then take my sweet time after work tomorrow to get it all on the bike. I'll wait `til the traffic dies down, spend the night with a buddy in San Rafel and finish the trip up Saturday morning. I could get up there and set up camp tomorrow night, but I don't want to stress over it. Hmmm...that reminds me. I still need to buy a bottle or two of whiskey for the trip.

2004-04-25 - Castle Ness
Mark, that bath guy from Fresno, came up and spent the weekend with me. We went to the Scottish games with Johnny & Joe on Saturday, then all saw Punisher in Emeryville on the way home.

We all hooked up for breakfast again this morning and went out to Fort Funston. When Mark had to part company, J&J and I went out to the Arlen Ness shop in Dublin where the sales guy gave us a tour of the shop. It was incredible. We took the long way home South around the bay and stopped at Alice's for dinner.

What a great weekend. I am sunburnt.

2004-04-22 - Redo
When I see folks at their work, I often wonder if the job they are doing is a job they choose, or one they fell into. When I was very young I wanted to be a zookeeper. When I got older I had dreams of being an astronaut. I am neither. I never thought much in terms of backup careers. If I had it all to do over again, I would probably have taken shop and/or "small engines" in Jr High instead of art and gone from there.

I think I will do my level best to get into a particular woodworking course I've been eying for several years and start from there.

It is tough to begin with the end in mind when I don't know where I want the end to be.
It is also tough to start from the beginning when I forget where the beginning is.
When I raise my voice to the heavens and cry �redo! I am mostly relived that the powers don't grant my request.

2004-04-19 - In the Drink
Mixed news. My weekend was wonderful. I rode down to Fresno to meet some big bastard I've been chasing on the Internet. He turned out to be a good deal more than I could have expected in any number of different ways. If we could have gotten the pizza delivered to the bathroom and had a television playing the food network, we would have probably never left the bathtub. Still, eight or so hours in the bathtub on a first date is certainly worth gushing about.

The other part of the mix comes from my quarterly doctor's appointment this morning. I had gone in expecting to see another undetectable viral load and negotiate for another med holiday. I walked out with scripts for a whole new cocktail. I am weary of taking meds. More than I know how to say. I could really use another bath with some big bastard.

2004-04-15 - -
�Has anyone had a good experience with a chevy mechanic in the city that they'd recommend?

My 1994 S-10 pickup needs help.

2004-04-14 - Belly Break
I have a set of beefy ball bellied construction workers parading their baskets in my 24th floor office windows.

The boss is also gone.

I have a feeling I'm not going to get much done today.

2004-04-13 - Attract
It seems most of my brain shares lately have involved relationships. While I find writing helps me either think though or let go of any number of things, the relationship stuff almost never passes my "fair to all involved" public posting rule.

I have also been playing a good deal of
Pok�mon Colosseum. I'm assuming that most folks who read my blog aren't interested that the tyranitar I snagged on Colosseum took a fancy to an aggron I caught on Sapphire and they made little larvitar eggs. I've updated my pok�mon page so that folks that are interested in that sort of thing can read up on what I'm doing.

2004-04-07 - Essence
Of all my reading in the sci-fi/fantasy realm, one of the artifacts I've pondered most is a double edged axe that once belonged to the first Titan and could cleave through anything. Using the edge of the blade, one could slice through any physical object. Using the flat of the blade and a command word, one could cut to the heart of non-physical matters.

If I was an artificer of exceptional skill, one of the first devices I would make would distill things to their very essence. I imagine it would look like a coiled brass tube flared like small funnels on either end. Any substance poured into one end would be distilled into it's essence and drip from the other. Words spoken into one end would be delivered as underlying meaning to a waiting ear. Vistas could be viewed through the device, music heard or books read. One can only imagine the wondrous products borne from distilling the essence of sunshine, starlight, sweet laughter or heartfelt tears.

If you could distill one thing to it's essence, �What would you try?

2004-04-05 - Tart Tease
I have a head cold/allergy/sinus headache thing goin' on. I haven't eaten anything all day--am not really hungry. For the first time ever, I have an odd craving for strawberry Pop Tarts.

By the gaping empty slot at the store, it looks like I'm not the only one.

This just stinks of conspiracy.

2004-04-01 - Roadways
I went riding through the mojave desert. I saw big wonderful trains. I was more than a bit jealous of all the train cars traveling together. A juggernaut with strength and purpose. I was all alone on my motorcycle. At least I got to choose where I was going.

One of my friends who doesn't hear too well was beaming at me in Las Vegas. He told me he admired my free spirit and no-compromise attitude. I told him yeah, that was great, but I'll probably end up a lonely old spinster `cause of it. The Bastard enthusiastically agreed. I'd like to think it was because he didn't hear what I said, but still the sting is mostly in the truth of it.

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland