IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2004-01-29 - Positive Pedestrian
Yesterday MUNI was having issues, so after a few minutes of waiting I decided to walk to work. I had such a nice time that I decided to get up early and do it again today. Good thing I did. I hear a powerline broke at the Castro MUNI station and the underground was a disaster. Methinks if the weather is nice, I might start walkin' alot more often.

I broke out an old bottle of ketosticks this morning. Even after a few fries with UberPapa Monday night and a few fries with John & Joe and Peter Tuesday night, I'm gettin' a positive reaction for fat burnin'. Even if I wasn't burnin' fat, its still really fun to pee on things and make them change color.

Ooooooo...purple.

2004-01-26 - Do as I like, not as I do
I went to dinner and Geoff's party Friday night with
John & Joe. Geoff shared his toys nicely, and we had a good time.

Saturday morning, I headed South after giving Tainn a once over. I tested out my new Roadcrafter suit on the trip. I wanted to see how warm it would keep me all by itself, so didn't wear the electric vest. I had planned on visiting Carmel, but got too cold and ended up only going so far as Watsonville.

After fueling up both myself and Tainn in Watsonville, I popped by the local Beemer dealership (right across the street from the gas station) to check out a motorcycle trailer that was parked out front. Also to see how the tow ball was connected to the matching motorcycle that turned out to be a Honda Goldwing somebody had traded in for a new K1200LT. It is a curse that I am as hot and bothered by beautiful Beemer bikes as I am for Harley-Davidsonish men.

The dealership had one pair of electric gloves, sized extra small. This was the first time I'd seen any of the gloves in the store. They fit very well, so I snatched them up and wore them home. As I rode home it occurred to me that I like the men in leather, but with the exception of my boots, was in all textiles.

I went to Fusion Sunday night. A whole sleuth of dancing bears was there. I haven't been dancing in awhile and really enjoyed myself. Must do that more often.

2004-01-23 - Persistent Practitioner
I saw Little Rebel parked on the street in the financial district again last night. His turn signal had been repaired, and he was cleaned up a bit. I feel much better about his new home now.

I had a quarterly Dr appointment yesterday. I couldn't ask for better bloodwork numbers. Still the Dr noticed that I've been gaining a few pounds each year and asked that I lose about 15 pounds and stay there. Not an unreasonable request. Looks like no more Chicken Monster Tacos for me.

After work I changed
Tainn's engine oil, cleaned up and headed over to Magnet.

I ran into Rita Rock`n Roller and Fannie Firefighter there. (I was Consuelo Cardiologist for the evening.)

It says alot when the local heath services joint is more hoppin' than the coffee shop. Next time I go I think I will pre-mix and take cocktails. Thanks to henare, who may or may not be either Rita Rock`n Roller or Fannie Firefighter, for taking the picture.

2004-01-20 - Plunge Guard
I had a nice relaxing time this weekend. I polished
Tainn's pipes, ran lots of errands and rode up to the River on Sunday for the Polar Bar Plunge.

After hitting on the woofy guy in tighty whiteys next to me at the plunge and getting threatened by his jealous boyfriend, I remembered that I've lost my favorite mouthguard and need to melt/mold a new one. Never know when you're gonna get in a good fistfight, so it's always a good idea to carry your mouthguard with you.

Thanks to Steve for takin' the pic.

2004-01-16 - Bike Guilt
Last night on my way home from work I spotted Little Rebel, my starter bike. His rear right turn signal was busted off with wires hanging out, the right mirror cracked, and he had plenty of new bangs, scratches and dings. Damn, did that make me feel guilty. I offered my apologies to him, patted him on the rump and wandered home.

Trying to not feel even more guilty that I was checking out the
2004 model year beemers earlier this week. Don't tell Tainn, she is a jealous lover.

2004-01-15 - CastroNuva
I tried out two new places in the neighborhood last night. Both get rave reviews.

First was the new coin-up laundry/coffee shop, Sit & Spin. Kick ass new stainless steel triple load washers and driers, and just a tad-too-low for me marble-top folding tables. The big screen TV playing Moulin Rouge was a nice touch. When the coffee shop closed the proprietor came out and gave away all of the day's leftover pastries. That was very kind. I love the debit card machines there. No more fumbling with a bag full of quarters.

My second new place was
Magnet. Earlier in the evening I was fortunate enough to be chatting online with Frank Strona when I went to pee and noticed I was a bit leaky. Probably a result of BearHug activities this weekend. The SF Clinic was already closed for the night, but Smut-san Frank knew just what to do and suggested I check out Magnet. Wow. It is so much nicer than the Clinic. Besides being right around the corner, there was ubercool friendly staff and a great waiting room with house music and Internet access. After a quick check of the equipment, they gave me a (drinking, not poking) shot of bubblegum flavored antibiotic and a caplet then sent me on my way. Can't beat service like that.

2004-01-13 - Jimmy, Take me Away
There must be something in Margaritas that I've been craving that is above and beyond the usual lemon & salt craving. I mixed myself one last week after work, and am already jonesing for another. Odd considering how early it is.

2004-01-12 - Code Red
I had a great weekend. Besides being mojointensive, I did alot of riding and woke up in a really great mood Saturday morning.

I will pretend that I didn't dance around in my underwear making up cheers. The rest is code red top secret, but was a great eye opener for
Donovan this morning.

This could be lots of fun

2004-01-08 - Five Numbers
I had my one month follow up Lasik appointment yesterday. I now have at least 20:15 vision in both eyes. I had no idea what these numbers meant until today. Basically that I can see a degree of detail in an object from 20 feet that a "normal" viewer would have to close into 15 feet to perceive.

I guess the practical application is that those guys who only look hot from a distance can't get nearly as close before I have a chance to duck for cover.

I wonder if there is such a thing as 50:1 hearing, where one can hear a button fly unpopping at 50 feet. That would be handy.

2004-01-07 - Too Big
Last Friday evening I was walking down second street towards
Cycle Gear to get some rain pants for my San Diego trip this weekend. I passed the Rand McNally store on the corner of Market. I paid close attention to the lighted/moving daylight/darkness map and was wondering if the mechanism adjusted north and south to account for seasons. A bit further along my walk the sun was setting and I was still thinkin' about the mechanics of the solar system. I heard the hiss of jet engines and saw two big jets that had just taken off from SFO. One in daylight, one in shadow. All the sudden it all slammed home. My knees buckled and I about puked thinkin' about standing on the surface of a ball corkscrewing through space. Thankfully my mental circuit breakers kicked in, and I snapped safely back into my frame of reference. I shook off those too-big thoughts. Sometimes it is such a blessing to be simple and stupid.

2004-01-06 - Burn Ride
San Diego was a good run. I really enjoyed Con & Mark and Dave's company. Not only did I finally get to visit the legendary Brian's, I got to meet a Brian himself. That was a big treat.

Sunday Mark, Dave, David and I went on a ride through some of the fire scarred mountains. Moving views. I look forward to seeing them renewed.

Yesterday was the long ride home. I'm a little whupped from the 1100+ miles of ridin' this weekend. Nothin' overly sore, I just feel "well used." Aside from the hookup coming unplugged on the vest end a few times, the new
electric vest worked out well. I think I'll be ordering the gloves soon. Thanks to Greg for the info on `em.

2004-01-04 - Safe
Sometimes I really fuckin' hate workin' on apples.

The ride down was wonderful. There was snow on the Grapevine. I can't begin to describe how beautiful it was approachining it from the Central Valley.

Off to Brian's soon for breakfast.

2004-01-03 - StockHolmes Syndrome
I'm headin' down to San Diego for a couple days to shamelessly hit on woofy biker guys. If you don't hear from me in a week, don't send help.

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland