IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2004-03-22 - Spong of Oz
Yesterday I was spending the afternoon with Jay when
John & Joe called wondering if we would be interested in going to Sing Along Wizard of Oz with them. I have found that these things are always more fun when you have a costume. Pressed for time as we were, all we could come up with were "Flying Sock Monkey" puppets.

While I had a blast at the movie and highly recommend it, I must admit that I love my puppets even more. It is particularly fun to pretend they are Spongmonkeys make them sing The Moon Song. It is a blessing to be so easily amused.

2004-03-22 - Mansour Report
While my birthday isn't `til tomorrow, I celebrated on Saturday. I had a mostly uneventful massage at 12:30. Then got a pickup and went to
Kabuki Hot Springs with John & Joe at 3:30, where Big Vince later joined us.

We then wandered over to El Mansour (their website seems to be busted) Moroccan restaurant for dinner and were joined by a sleuth of other friends. The restaurant has moved since the last time I was there. Fortunately only one door down, or I never would have found it.

After some juggling, all twentyfour of us got seated. Besides that the food is some of my favorite, it's a blast to eat with your fingers off of platters that the whole table shares. Lots of finger lickin' goin' on there. I had a wonderful time.

The bill ended up being much more than I projected, but well worth the dinner. I'm tickled that the line item for our twentyfour family style dinners was $666USD.

2004-03-21 - Heaven Dressing
Imagine being surrounded by two dozen wonderful men who know and love you. Everyone is eating yummy food with their fingers. A saucy belly dancer is having a ball bantering with the big beefy gay boys.

[sigh]

I think heaven will be like this--except maybe naked.

2004-03-19 - Coals on Souls
After seeing yet another screaming hellfire street corner bible banger during lunch today, I started wondering what it would take to make a "Portable Dance Party" work. ie:One charismatic person with a backpack wired for sound filled with handout goodies and signs that could rouse others to have fun, dance, enjoy and be like burning coals on hateful souls. I can just see some homebound elderly hippie woman answering a hotline and dispatching gayboys to dance. Stuffy deskjockies returning from their lunchbreak with a neon whistle and a spring in thier step. Bible bangers slumping home with stories of the wicked pagans uniting against him and driving him from their fair city. It could work.

It seems to me that the new Apple Store is more of a beef market. More woofy guys every time I go in. The guy in the pic is total fireplug linebacker goodness. He even smiled for his picture.

2004-03-18 - Cherry Ride
Even though I live in Gay Ground Zero, live a fairly public life and am disgustingly popular, I still find it disconcerting to wake up in the morning to find a cherrypicker/manlift right outside my bedroom window.

I'm gettin' all excited. I start my vacation Friday at close of business (even though I'll probably pop in on Monday to do some chores) I've got a big weekend planned, and then a roadtrip next week.

Ridin' down to San Diego on Wednesday, dinner with Tim, hookin' up with friends for breakfast at Brians' and then rolling over the mountains and into the desert to Vegas on Thursday.
CS SmokeOut next weekend in Vegas. �Woo Hoo! This will be my longest motorcycle roadtrip yet.

I'm still not sure what route I'll be takin' home, but goin' with the flow is half the fun.

2004-03-15 - Touchstone
On my ride down to San Diego the first weekend of January, I stopped in an odd little gas station in the middle of nowhere to fuel up. Neither bank card nor debit card worked at the pump or maybe they didn't even accept cards. I forget. I wandered into the station to pay and was greeted by a dark barrel chested middle aged man. For reasons I don't pretend to understand, he gave me a 50� piece back in my change. I thought that was kinda neat, like a treasure from a quest and have kept in my pocket almost everyday since.

While wandering over to John & Joe's on Saturday night, I was fishing through my pockets. As I pulled the contents of my pocket out, the half dollar hopped out of my pocket, through a fence and just out of reach. Face up. I thought about dropping everything and fishing for it, but I had this easy come easy go feeling about it. Maybe more of an oddly come, oddly go feeling. Like I was just carrying it around and chargin' it up for someone else. By way of saying goodbye and grieving, I snapped a picture of my 10 week companion and wandered away.

This is the last picture I took. Just rotated 90� clockwise and resized. Pretty cool if you ask me. I think I'm going to get prints.

2004-03-10 - Chosen
I can see myself sitting in some far off othertime being asked if I could live in any place or time where would I live. I can't help but to think I might have asked to live in San Francisco when the floodgates broke open and gay folks started getting equal rights by way of legal liberties that mixed gender couples take for granted.

Given, Stonewall was more of a "Rosa Parks on the bus" defining moment. It seems like more of a first stand than the whole rest of the world starting to come around.

Rosa refused to give up her seat for no good reason in 1955. The Stonewall patrons took a stand and fought back in 1969. It's 2004 and seems we all still have a long way to go. (Baby)

2004-03-05 - Motoed
I rode down to
CalMoto yesterday to get Tainn looked at. Seems she just had a loose air intake on the port side. I had taken off her starboard panel the night before and had looked for just that. Funny that. The owner of the shop heard me roll in, correctly diagnosed the problem from the sound, came wandering out with a screwdriver, quickly found loose hose, showed me how to reattach it and sent me on my way free of charge. I think they will be getting all my business from now on.

2004-03-03 - Under the Rainbow
I had a nice two day trip up to
Eureka. The way up was mixed rain and some of the most beautiful weather I've seen this year. I had a bit of a scare loosing traction at 55mph on some wet railroad tracks angled about 60� from my path. I recovered quite nicely and learned to be more cautious about such things. While stopped at a section of 101 that has been reduced to one lane by a recent slide/cave in, I pulled my little camera out of the sleeve of my suit and snapped this picture of the sky. It doesn't begin to do justice to the real thing. One cannot hope to hold the sky--especially with 2 megapixels. I swear I rode underneath a rainbow later in the trip--Yes, I know that is impossible.

I checked into a seedy travelodge, had a hot shower and wandered over to Lost Coast Brewery for dinner and the best pint I've ever drank. Mmmm...Raspberry Brown. I would be such a drunk if we had that on tap locally. Imagine beer that actually tastes great.

The work went amazingly smoothly and I rode home yesterday afternoon. More beautiful weather and good riding. I stopped for dinner in Rohnert Park to get a horsey sauce fix. After dinner, I went to start Tainn and she backfired badly and wasn't idling right. I think her starboard cylinder isn't firing or only firing on every other stroke. Still, even at half capacity she's got more than enough power to keep goin'. I suspect they must have not put her back together properly during her 12,000 mile service less than two weeks ago. I've got an appointment to take her in tomorrow. Grrr...No more illusions that BMW bikes are unbreakable.

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland