IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2003-04-30 - Victory
I caught Feebas. Many of them. Now I know where to find them, they are super easy to catch. I've also got enough of them to breed a whole army.

�Woo Hoo!

I wonder what I can get
CeltCub and Blu_Ghoti to do for one.

2003-04-29 - DrewBear Dreamin'
When I was little, I had black and white dreams that something big and scary was chasing me. One night I gave in and got caught, or rather caught up to. The big scary guy chasing me turned out to be quite pleasant and helpful and kind. He even came back to visit a few times. A few years later something else started chasing me. A swampy mutant thing. One night I got angry at being chased and turned around and just asked him what he wanted. He looked rather confused and told me he wasn't sure, and reminded me that after all, it was my dream anyway. I should know.

After that exchange, I've never been fearful that harm would come to me in dreams.
But rules also changed.

2003-04-27 - Colored Pok�Thai Penn
It's been a few days...Friday was good and mostly uneventful. It was bear lunch, albeit a cold and rainy one. It was nice to see
Capy for the first time in a long time.

Friday night was stay in and uneventful.

This (Saturday) morning, I played pok�mon `til my fingers cramped up, trying to get just one more to make 190/200 before meeting CeltCub and Blu_Ghoti for lunch and pok�block mixing. CeltCub was much bigger than I thought, and Blu_Ghoti has a fey "walking lightly" quality about him that made me keep looking directly at him to be sure he was still there.

After we finished mixing and trading, I arced down to San Jose to meet the techie there to upgrade their production server with the same stuff I did to San Francisco Wednesday. All went well, but it took a bit longer.

I popped by Walmart on the way home and picked up bathroom redecorate items, and two of the new little LEGO NBA sets. I wanted some LEGO people of color. The LEGO Company finally buckled in and made some for NBA players. `bout time.

When I got home, I found a BOSE firmware update had come in the mail. Cool musics DVD with it with really full, rich music. Ken saw that I liked it and turned me on to U Penn - Off the Beat. Wow. Rich full cappella versions of modern music. Just amazing. I must acquire some.

Ken and I spent the night listening, dancing in my window for passersby, and putting all the new stuff up the bathroom. He's oonline with Kelli now telling her she must regift Easter Bear and his new magic cape.

It is getting late/early must sleep.

2003-04-25 - Friday Five
From the
Friday Five.
1. What was the last TV show you watched?
Gilmore Girls/Smallville on Tuesday night WB with Leigh.

2. What was the last thing you complained about and what was the problem?
An underling Techie at work. He is hopelessly and annoyingly clueless.

3. Who was the last person you complimented and what did you say?
I think it was Beefur Joe last night for his freshly made scallops alfredo linguini.

4. What was the last thing you threw away?
The wet plastic bag I used to carry home the pie pans last night.

5. What was the last website (besides this one) that you visited?
SFGate is my "newspaper."

2003-04-24 - Server Pok�Pie Phone
Work went well today. The server I upgraded last night ran happily all day long with no quirks. I took off at about 14:30, figuring I've worked enough.

That, and I had a potluck to get ready for. I made two mushroom pies. All gone. Quickly. I even saw somebody pickin' the scrapin's off the tin, and folks are already writin' for the recipe. I love it when big furry men get all gooey about my cookin'. I just want to get all 60's housewife barefoot and pregnant in the kitchen.

I found a couple catch phrases to tell the berry master's wife to get her to give up the good berries. I'm trying to grow them, but they are taking their sweet time. I may not have any to share by Saturday. I did hatch two corsula for my pok�horts, so they won't have to trade for one on their cartridge.

There is an older gentlemen who has been interested in me of late, and slides hand written notes under my front door, folded neatly and in envelopes. He also keeps leaving phone messages--one or two a day. He left one tonight telling me I should check my messages more often. I wonder if he even knows what e-mail is. I hate telephones. If he would just read my website he would SO know that. [sigh]

2003-04-23 - Mushroom Market Maintenance
No pictures again. Camera firmly in pocket all day. Me mostly inside all day, getting ready for and upgrading the backup hardware on a production server in San Francisco. If I was completely successful, I will do the same in San Jose on Saturday evening...then Oakland...then Santa Rosa. In any case very few opportunities for pictures.

The big picture oppertunity was lunch. I went to the farmers' market at civic center plaza and got some mushrooms from the mushroom growin' folks. Mmmmm.... Abalone, Shitake, and button. I also got a couple of tamales for the tamale makin' folks and swept them back to work to eat at my desk.

The upgrades went well. I took the server offline at about 19:15, and had it back up and running before 19:45. Then I installed patches on the backup software, and tested. Wandered home around 21:30.

I sliced the abalones up into �" slices and fried them in butter and lime juice in my 12" calphalon pan. Sprinkled on some complex salts and slowly ate the crunchy tender wonderfulness. Mmm....so good.

Must sleep. In to work early tomorrow to make sure all is right, then hopefully out of work early tomorrow to make mushroom pie. Mmmmm....

2003-04-23 - Picture Cookie Love
I left the camera sit on my desk at work most of the day, so no pretty pictures. I've been tryin' to do better with that, as most folks seem to like pretty pictures.

EasterBear is still enroute to LA vis USPostal mail.
Delivery Confirmation number 03030130000163137364. I am not a java guru, and can't figure a way to write the URL to plug the number in for ya'al.

After work last night, Leigh and I stopped by to give hand me down Carhartts to barber Darrell. We got a little "fitting" show as he tried them on, then went over to Pasta Pomadoro on Market for dinner. For dessert we wandered over to Cala for supplies and then home to make butterscotch coconut cookies. They are good, but not as good as last week's cookies. Methinks less coconut and Leigh's mixer fetish were the culprits. They seem to be disappearing quickly enough. I've been thinkin' I haven't been "practicing" very much lately, so I'm making a consious effort to make a little love and spread it around. I got tickled at some of Ken's houseguests last night who were all about the cookies. It's a good thing to be able to whip up batches of joy in the kitchen.

Pok�world is going well. I'm up to 181 Got/184 Seen/200 possible. I've been making a point of berry tending every morning, though I'm still not getting the rarer berries. I suspect I may have to tell the berry master's wife codewords to get them just becasue of the way her interface is set up, but have no clue what to tell her to get the berries I want.

2003-04-22 - World Whispers
I gently woke up in the wee hours of the morning. Maybe not so much woke up as drifted a bit into consciousness. Castro Street was still, but something was different. I listened intently. I caught a whisper of soft happy seductive music. Not outside. Somewhere nearby. The part of my brain the remembers those things was beaming and happy, but not giving me any clue as to where or why, like a child waiting for the surprise. I thought about the book I'm reading and how it caters to my ideas the the walls between worlds are warped and thin in urban areas. My feelings that I can `round a corner or duck through a bound space and find myself in some "other" world. I remembered the late Douglas Adam's idea of turning your head ever so slightly, "turning in" to the sound and slipping around an atom and into otherworlds. I turned my head slightly and deliberately, honing in on the alluring yet utterly familiar farie fugue, ready to slip into some wonderful fey world. So nearby. Coming from everywhere. I continue to turn my head. Ahh, there it is. On the bed beside my pillow. Facedown and singing happy pok�music into my sheets, music that resonates through my bed springs. My gameboy happily waits where it fell from my hands when I fell asleep. Waiting eagerly to tell me that the battle is won and Inductep has earned 703 exp points. Waiting, by my best estimation, four and half hours. I flipped it off without saving my progress rather than take the five hour hit to my gametime. I rolled back over, snuggled into my flannel sheets and thought about the faeries that lulled me to sleep so they could tease my with hopes of finding their world. Silently watching from the shadows, stifling their glee `til I fell asleep again.

2003-04-21 - �LA (un)Bound!
Bear will be traveling via US Postal Mail to LA starting tomorrow. I'm wondering if I should buy the Internet tracking, so we can follow his progress. I would if it was cross county, but am thinkin' LA will be a short trip.

Sorry this posting came a day late. I spent the bulk of the day becoming the Pok�mon League Champion and Honorary Pok�mon Professor. �Woo Hoo!

2003-04-19 - Egglicious.
I love the egg party. I feel so fab and popular and loved. Even though that evil bitch Jeff Glover was a total hateful gossipy kunt. God I love him. Gary was drunk, stoned or both and totally giggley and wonderful. I promised that I'd get these pics on the Internet with 45 minutes of taking them, even though I know I radically change the fashion world every time I post pictures of well dressed men. It is a curse. Hmm...thoses two jello shots went right to my head. I hope they stay there.

So far as I noticed, henry didn't show up again this year. God, you'd think he was jewish or somethin'.

2003-04-19 - Red Bears and Rice Burners
Friday goin' home from work I had the mojo goin' again. Lots of people smiling and friendly. I was beaming. I dropped my stuff off at home, then swung by Cala to grab some cary away sushi and played some Pok�mon before heading out to the bonfire.

Bonfire was wonderful. I saw a few LJ folks I hadn't seen there before, and when we came into convergence, we learned that
Tecknobear is not Tecknobear, or so Tom claims. I also meeted and greated many folks, and had a nice chat with John & Joe. The memory of the tide swallowing up the bonfire will be burned in my memory forever. Red hot coals floating away from the fire on the backs of retreating waves. Amazing.

This morning John, Joe & I rode down to Alice's for brunch. It was great. My first time riding with three, and also my first time riding the inside of the lane with a group. Eggs Benedict at Alice's was wonderful. The weather was perfect.

We rode back to town and had drinks at StarBears and socalized a bit, then had a scoop of brownie batter icea cream at Ben & Jerry's. Mmmm...perfect day.

I'm home now recharging. The Egg Party started a half hour ago, but I'm not charged enough to go yet. It's more fun to go later and see all the boys drunk on pastel jello shots anyway.

Pok�mon is coming along well. On the way to work yesterday the CEO of Devon Corp. gave me Exp. Share, and it has made all the difference in training and leveling up all the `mon I need to evolve to fill out my Pok�dex. When I was riding down the coast today, I got a strong whiff of the salty sea air in Paficica and thought about fishing for Starmie in Lily Cove. It's a wonder how the wall between the worlds are starting to blurr. I think I had a dream the night before last that Easter Bear and the transformed Baby from Spirited Away were my Pok�mon and we were trying to catch something.

2003-04-17 - Japaneese Bondage
I picked up the US version of Spirited Away today. Wow. Really great translation and dubbing. I usually tend to watch movies in the original language and read subtitles, but there is really no need here. Besides the Mom and some rushed dialogue every now and again, it was great. I'm going to watch it again and again and...

Progressing along slowly in Pok�mon. I think I'll be ready to take on the Elite Four this weekend. I played around with berry mixing and pok�blocks and gave another try at contests. Chilcoat, my biggest, toughest pok�mon managed to win a "cute" contest and got a little ribbon. Awww...

I'm starting to take a shine to helpless bondage bear, but it looks like he will be going to LA. Getting lots of comments from friends and neighbors.

2003-04-16 - Fried Pok�ocery
I went over to
Carl's Jr today lookin' for GumbaDaddy. There was a Golden Bear Moving Company 20some foot box van parked there instead. Sadly there were no occupants. I was craving taquitos so walked over to the Jack in the Box on First near Market. Mmmmmm Fast Fried Food Fusion. I waited in line, and when I got to the front, realized my wallet was sitting on my desk at work. �D'oh!. Back to work, back to Jack, yummy fast fried food fusion. Fish & Chips and taquitos. Two kinds of dead things.

Non eventful work day afternoon and commute home.

Ken had dinner ready when I got home. Sloppy joe like sandwiches with pepperjack cheese. Had dinner then worked a little on my Pok�mon grocery list--"Pok�ocery" Mostly to keep a running track of which pok�mon I still need to get, and partially to show off my team. And you could see it to if my #@$$#% ISP was working right now for me to build the link. Bad AT&T.Net.

Per Ken's instance we made cookies tonight. Also per Ken's instance I put coconut in them. They are SOOO fucking good. Ken thinks we should sell them. At the rate he's going, I don't think any of them will live to see the light of day.

2003-04-15 - Aim Hatless Stuck
I need to work on my free hand photography aim and timing. I'd love to get good shots without having to pay attention to the viewfinder in my camera.

As much as I wanted to go to Carl's for lunch to look for GumbaDaddy, the boss wanted a team lunch today, and sprung for the pizza. We'll see about tomorrow. Farmer's Market might win out.

After work I met
Leigh at StarBears and we headed over to Kun Phoa for dinner, popped by Cala for desert supplies, and then wander back to my flat for sundaes and Gilmore Girls. Leigh was drooling `cause someone at the network must have decided Luke wears his baseball cap WAY too often, and he looks much better to Leigh without it.

I went to move my truck out of a Wednesday cleaning spot and found a Mezzanine flyer stuck to the driver side window. Real good. It's gonna take a solvent and scraper to get that off. Thanks, minions of Audry.

2003-04-15 - Easter Bear Death Poll
Easter Bear is hideously pastel, sickly cheery happy and must be hurt. Choose a fate for Easter Bear, and the winning fate will be photoed on Easter and posted.

Until then, Easter Bear hangs happily bound and suspended in my window for all to see. Be sure wander over to the Castro and look for him. I have to admit, I like him so much better now that he's tied up, and look, he's still smiling.

�D'oh! Bad tester. Seems when livejournal says "allow all" to participate in the poll, they only mean all LJ users. Grrrr... Feel free to post a comment there.

2003-04-14 - Quick Mojo Lard
It was a happy quick day at work. All those lusty lunch guy thoughts swimming through my head all afternoon. I'll be eating at Carl's Junior, um forever. Hopefully he'll be back. Fish & Chips will always be extra special to me now.

The ride home from work was fun. All flirty eyes and smiles on MUNI. Had the mojo goin' on again today. Went to StarBucks for an appearance. It is so nice to have sunshine after work again.

Richard and I headed over to the Mission for dinner at Poncho Villas. It is kick ass. Sooo good. I swear the burrito wraps only had enough flour in them to hold the yummy lard together. The refried beans has so much fat they tasted like they used to be alive. Marinated grilled shredded steak still pink inside. Yummy. Stay away from the fresca tamarind. After the hot sauce it tasted like sardines. Ewww....

�Remember I talked about toasting the Easter bear last week? I need to figure out how to do a poll so I can have folks vote and decide kill him off on Easter Sunday.

2003-04-14 - Woof.
I wandered over to Embarcadero 4 to Carl's Jr for my usual fish & chips lunch. The little asian women still bother to ask me what I want, but they start punching my order into the register as soon as they see me. No tartar sauce, extra vinegar.

I wandered over to the SW corner and sat at the bar that wraps around the outside edge of the dining room. A local plumbing/fire systems contractor van was parked just outside on Drumm Street. I noticed because a big furry Gandolfini lookin' gumba was climbing into it. He lit up a cigarette and started to take a big drag off of it. I was surprised to see anybody in smoking in a company van. Then he surprised me more by sliding his hand into his overalls and grabbing his cock. I watched him take long drags of his cigarette and jack himself off. He pretended not to notice I was watching, but his eyes kept flicking over to make sure I was. I could tell he was breathing heavier `cause of the smoke. Smaller puffs more quickly. Thick furry forearm pivoting on his ball belly. The smoke stopped. He closed his eyes for a moment and leaned a bit forward. Stomach crunching up. Then quickly leaned back again relaxed, drawing that big first breath through the red edged ash. He pulled his hand out of his overalls and grabbed his cigarette and shoved the butt in the ashtray. He grabbed a coke can out of the dash somewhere and guzzled the rest down. He took another look over at me and crushed the can in his fist and tossed it into the back of the van. He hopped out of the van, locked the door and headed South out of sight. By the time I got out the door he was gone.

My mind keeps slipping back into his pants. Smoke and sweat and musky cum. Warm and moist. Tucked away beneath his belly. Thick furry ham hands on the back of my head.

2003-04-14 - Cleaned
I forgot to move my motorcycle out of the 6 to 8am Monday cleaning spot. Again. This is getting pricy.

2003-04-13 - Sunny Disco Nap
Good weekend this go `round.

I devoted most of rainy cold Saturday to Pok�mon catchin', and went out to
Mezanine Saturday night and had a great time. Lots of Dancing Bears. Great music, especially right when I got there at 11:30-12ish. Lots of tribal drums and an intangible "kalypso" quality. Just the stuff I like. Too many lulls later in the evening, but mostly good.

I walked all the way home in the light rain. It was pleasant.

This morning I had brunch with Richard, took a long walk, then made an appearance at StarBears. Afterwards I went and took a power nap during that period in the afternoon where the sun shines right in my bedroom windows. Nothing like a naked sunshine powernap. (Well maybe a shared naked power sunshine nap, but that didn't happen today)

This evening I went to do laundry and dinner with Ken. It wasn't regular laundry day, but Ken had to go and we were planning on dinner. It was a nice way to spend time together. We went on a walk while the dryers where finishing. It was a pleasant, comfy evening.

2003-04-11 - Pok�update
*I'm up to about 120 Caught/140 Seen/200 Pok�mon.
*I've had all eight gym badges for awhile, and have completed victory road.
*I'm holding off on the final four `cause I
1) want to have a nice number of pok�mon my "trainer card" when I beat them,
2) want to be SURE that I can beat them on the first try, and
3) have plenty of other sub-quests and collecting to occupy me otherwise.
*I've found and am cultivating 25/36 berry types. I'm not sure where to find the rarer ones, or if it's just luck of the draw.
*I've solved the sunken cave miniquest and have access to regi ice/rock/steel, but they are SO fuckin' hard to catch (even though I can walk right up and challange them) I've given up for now.
*I still haven't established a Secret Base, `cause I don't want to waste the TM on one of my Dream Team until I've beaten the Final Four.
*I still haven't figured out when mirage island show up.
*I can't seem to win a pok�contest. `cause Ashley's Seedot keeps kickin' my ass and I would rather keep good battle moves than gear my `mon for the pagents.
*I will catch Feebas. I will have it. Fishin' on Rt 119. Grrr...
*I am still bitter that Snorelax and Gengar are not in this version.

2003-04-09 - Remember
�Remember that one episode of the Smurfs where one Smurf was out in the woods and got caught by Gargamel? But Gargamel needs six Smurfs for his gold making spell, and used the Smurf he caught for bait to lure five more Smurfs to his house and into a trap. The Smurfs got the sly on Gargamel and resuced the captured Smurf and they all got away. That was my favorite episode.

2003-04-09 - Mojo Pizza Princess
On my way home from work last night, everyone kept looking at me and smiling. In an cute/happy/erie sort of way. I literally and discretely checked my back for a "kick me" type sign and made sure my fly was closed, etc. Two very handsome men were also hitting on me. Just had some sort of mojo goin' on.

I popped by a couple groceries before going home to pick up supplies for the spinach gnocci dinner I was planning. Got home and had seven messages from Richard on land and cell lines telling me dinner was a no go. No gnocci for Drew.

I decided to skip the gnocci prep for tonight and grabbed a slice at Marcello's then hit StarBears before climbing the hill to BOSF game night. There were a good many LJ's at game night--
Arkanjil, Bearzbub, and TeknoBear. I played two hands of Uno and Pretty Pretty Princess. I won all three, but more importantly, I beat BearKen all three times. Don't knock Pretty Pretty Princess `til you've tried it. There is something innately satisfying about knocking the tiara off someone else's head to win the game.

2003-04-08 - Spirited Siren Song
During lunch today, I went on a quest to find a Japanese version of
Spirited Away. Desmond tells me that its much better than the yet to be released US version. I wandered to Chinatown in search for a copy. What I got instead was the epiphany that I know diddly about region encoding and video format.

When air-raid sirens go off, after my heart starts beating and I go into alert mode, the first things I think of are "whens." Mostly, �Is it a Tuesday? and �Is it noon? Today I got a taste of where. It never occurred to me that the sirens actually have to be somewhere, and I was less than a block from a bank of sirens when they went off today. Now I'm wondering where else they may be. Would make a fun little quest to find them all.

Where Pok�mon are concerned, I'm still a long way from catching them all. I've got maybe 110 out of 200 of `em. I've only seen about 140. This probably wouldn't be a big deal if 1) I wasn't addicted, and have to play until I've got them all, and 2) Every 9 year old who got their hands on a copy on release day probably already has them all. If anyone knows of any other SF adults playing, please get the word out that I'm lookin' to mix some pok�blocks.

2003-04-08 - Quiche for `Que
I thought I'd mention that when Kelli was up from LA this weekend, I made her a mini-quiche breakfast in bed. She snubbed my miniquiches, and was up like toast and out the door. I soothe my wounded heart by thinking about what tortures I will visit opon the pastel purple bear she & Ken got for me--once easter is over and it neither goes with my room nor the season. It sits staring out my window, begging the masses of the Castro to rescue it from it's unspeakable fate.

2003-04-07 - Not Free Speach
There have been a few recent e-mail free speech cases in California that have sparked a good deal of debate about what is and isn't free speach. I support the most recent rulings that seem to say it isn't, and am hoping the law theory will spill over into telephone and mail. My jist on the whole thing is that if a service or resource is paid for by some entity, that entity has every right to control the resource. ie:I pay for my e-mail services, not the people who send me spam. They have no right to send me advertizements I don't directly solocit. Likewise, I pay for my phone service. I don't believe that companies should have any right to use my phone for advertizing if I don't directly solocit the advertisement. Think of it this way. You rent a flat to live in. �Would it be OK for Joe Free Speech to stand on your coffee table and talk at you while you're watching TV? I think not. Likewise, I don't think Joe Free Speech should have any more rights to trespass in my paid telephone or e-mail service. Joe Free Speech has every right to excersise his speech in a public forum, the flyers he creates, his own bullitin boards, his own paid website, his 1.800 number and in his own home. I have every right to enjoy simple peace and quiet in mine.

2003-04-04 - Friday Five Housing
From
Friday Five
1. How many houses/apartments have you lived in throughout your life?
Fifteen. Eight Houses and Seven Apartments in 31 years.

2. Which was your favorite and why?
116 Lockhart in Niantic, IL. Big, Old, Spacey, Well Lit, woodwork, hardwood floors, stained glass, inbuilt china cabinets and window benches, walk-in attic off my room, big basement with soda fountain and woodshop. I also got to live there for 11 years, which is a long time when I'm averaging two years a place.

3. Do you find moving house more exciting or stressful? Why?
Stressful. I'm getting to the point where I'm starting to want to settle.

4. What's more important, location or price?
For now, Location. I live in the heart of the Casto in San Francisco. I can tell because of the huge neon sign on the Castro Theater shines into my bedroom window. I am 1� blocks from the block I would most like to live on if I had my choice of anywhere in the world. There is a nice, small beautiful house for sale there now that I could never hope to afford.

5. What features does your dream house have (pool, spa bath, big yard, etc.)?
Bathtub built for two, well equipped industrialish kitchen, sun room, porch, basement and most importantly a mud room.

2003-04-04 - Squirrel Smut
After a
LiveJournal friend posted a link to this in my LJ Notes, I can't help but to think the style of this looks an awfully lot like SquirrelX's page. �Watch out SquirrelX! �Can we say stalker?

2003-04-01 - Pok�Joke Helmet
Still not in much of a mood to write my normal witty clever i-did-this entries.

I've also been spending way to much time playing pokemon. Only up to 71. Grrrr....I also found out the hard way that I can't transfer critters from the older games to the new AND my favorite species don't even exist on the new game. No Sweet Dreams Team for me.

I had another post accident survivee sing the virtues of full face helmets. That makes three. Can't say that I know any turtle shell helmet folks who've survived a serious accident. Good enough stats for me to keep wearin' full face.

Must sleep.

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland