IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2002-10-31 - Castroween
I've been out on the front porch smoking cigars with my neighbors and enjoying the Castro Halloween festivities. Sometimes living in this neighborhood is an absolute blast. `course I probably won't be thinking that five hours from now when I'm trying to sleep and the party is in full swing.

2002-10-31 - PotLuckPie
Hmmm...pie went over better than I thought. Notice how the OTHER potluck deserts have barely been touched, but my pie tin has all but been licked clean. To think Jessica's Lemon Bars were all the rage just a few short months ago. �See how they migrated to one side of the plate, hoping to bask in the glory of the empty pie tin? �Victory!

2002-10-30 - Pie Light
Site vist to Salinas trip today. Interesting trip back. Made Pecan Pie for a potluck tomorrow. I couldn't find the index card with the family recipe, so I went with one from a book (sorry Mom). It looks too light and fluffy.

Guess I'll find out tomorrow.

Seems the Flash mini-fig from yesterday is a printout of a real deal. Custom made and sold by The MiniFigure Creation Station. Thanks to John Herre on Lugnet for solving the mystery for me.

2002-10-29 - Two Hits Masterpiece
This weekend, I had the hardest time seeing anything I wanted to take a picture of. This morning on the way to work, I saw two great bits of shared art that I couldn't pass up.

For those of you who are not San Francisco locals, we have a community artist DAVe (pronounced "davey"). DAVe makes the world a better place by creating paintings and posting them in (usually ugly) public places. He changes eyesores into art. In the beginning DAVe did more traditional paintings that took quite a bit of time. Seems DAVe wanted to put more art more places and created a simple but powerful style that allows him to make many unique powerful colorful art pieces quickly. Watchful San Franciscans can spot old and new DAVe art any number of places. It seems a few years ago, DAVe borrowed a trick from thug kids and started mass producing marker drawings in his unique style on stickers and "tagging" them in the most unusual places, like thug kids will "tag" their marks or signatures. On the way to work, I saw the pictured "tag." It has definate DAVe stylings, but with thug kid signatures. I wonder if some kid has taken a love for DAVe style, or DAVe is playing thug art.

I also found this picture of a custom "Flash" LEGO minifig hanging in a second story window on 18th. I'm enough of a LUGger to know that this was never a production fig, and the shading on the curvy parts looks better that any LDraw rendering I've ever seen. I wonder if it's a picture of a pre-release minifig, somebody is a master CGI artist, or somebody is a master craftsman. I'm going to post it to Lugnet for the community to see. If anybody knows who did this, be sure to tell `em they did a GREAT job.

2002-10-28 - Double Home Cook & Creative
Great RDO today. Grocery shopping. Kitchen tool shopping. An hour or so at StarBears with friends. Cooked lunch at home with Leo. (fresh sausages from Berkley and a fry) Afternoon nap. Cooked dinner for Desmond and Gene. (mushroom pie and Grandma Ruthie's Potato Soup) Had a great IBR 2003 creative comittee dinner meeting. Typed up the notes, and contacted the effected people. Now the diary nightcap and off to bed.

2002-10-27 - Giant Loss
Hmmm...Giants lost. Baaadd.

Went to Palliduim last night. Had a good time, but left early. Three hours of dancing is enough for a sick person. (Yeah, still sick) Stayed home today and cleaned. Partially because I'm sickly, and partially because I haven't been able to completely wash "BUMFIGHTS" off my forehead. Part of my Halloween costume.

Regular Day Off tomorrow. Desmond and Gene are coming over for dinner so we can discuss the super-hero themed IBR 2003. Since I have all day, I may make mushroom stew. Mmmmm...

2002-10-26 - H1Bonfire
Just got back from
ggreg's bonfire. Had a great time.

Leigh got his H1B back today, he can stay in the US and won't get deported before 2005. �Woo Hoo! He got a scare last week when his other application was denied.

Lots of parties and whatnot tomorrow night. going down to Walgreens' to get so Nyquil so I can get some sleep.

Must sleep.

2002-10-24 - Constant Comments
My two most common comments on the website have been, "when I click on the thubnails, nothing happens" and "I can't find pictures of you." I've finished converting all the small decorative banner pictures to thumbnails, links or whatnot, and I've added some pictures of me under "Sex." I'll add some more E rated pictures once I get the thoughts, spirit and love sections done.

2002-10-23 - Cheap Bears
I went to
House of Prime Rib tonight for Bears of San Francisco dinner night. Dinner was great, service was kick ass, atmosphere was wonderful and I met some woofy men. Unfortunatly there were either some cheap bears or bad adding bears and we only ended up tiping 14%. I am SO embarrased. I'm hoping I can talk the board into sending HoPR a suplemental tip.

2002-10-22 - Double Dinner Fortress
Tomato soup and grilled cheese again for dinner. Not the same tomoato soup the Cove had LAST night. Tsk Tsk... Kiwi James made me some strage but good hot tea to make me all better.

Had dinner with Leigh and Chuck. Afterwards Leigh and I wandered home and watched Gilmore Girls. I sorted bricks into bins and Leigh built a Legends fortress.

Cookies were a big hit with everyone.



2002-10-21 - Pop Cove Cookies
My new boss started work today. She is delightfully pleasant and not the evil tyrant I had feared. Good day at work today. Got a good many things done.

Chilly tonight, and was already starting to get dark when I was commuting home from work. I saw that Kiwi James was working, so I popped in the Cove for dinner. The kick ass thick creamy tomato soup perfectly complements the grilled cheese sandwich. Warmed me right up.

I made cookies when I got home. Partly because I'm happy, and partly `cause it warms up the house. Took some back over to the Cove for Kiwi James, will take some to work, and leave the rest in the clear top cookie jar in the kitchen to tempt my housemate James.

Still sick but better. Must Sleep.

2002-10-20 - Giants win first.
Beautiful day out here in San Francisco. I little chilly and nice and sunny.
Went to Daddy's bar last night to watch the ballgame. �Woo Hoo! We won first.
Still sickly, but itching to be out and about.

2002-10-18 - Noodle Bonfire
STILL Sick. Made Chicken noodle soup from scratch this morning. Really. Noodles and all, and I'm still sick. Maybe I need to start a bonfire in the backyard and dance naked with sticks or something. At least it would make a more interesting picture than noodles drying.

More site every day.

2002-10-17 - IBR `B' is for boring.
Still sick. BOSF IBR Meeting tonight. It seemed really really long, and really really boring. Jeff is NOT picking his nose.

Chores to do before bed. Everyone reminded me of the many things they've asked me to do that I've totally flaked on. (Sorry Gary)

Ken wrote back, says he'd like to haul his new man out for a stay. I'm lookin' forward to getting to see him.

Content continues to fill in the site, but many more hours of work to do.

2002-10-16 - Ken Lives
Sick today. Slept `til noon. Slow day.

Ken, my best friend and evil sister during my West Virginia years E-mailed me today from DC. I can't wait to hear about what juicy event prompted the contact. Here is a picture of Ken at the Mountain State Bears Christmas Slumber Party many years ago. I will say in his defense that he USUALLY wears clothing that flatters his palette.

2002-10-15 - We have WebLog
�Woo Hoo! Got this weblog to display on my splash page, now to work on the navbar and add *actual content* pages.

2002-10-14 - Bad Pizza
Grrr...I have today off, it being a federal holiday and made a run to South San Francisco for some parts. When I got back, I was walking from my truck to my front door and noticed some snot had taken a piece of mostly eaten pizza and smeared it on the seat of my motorcycle. Grrr...It makes both sad and angry that folks are hateful, immature or careless enough to do shit like that.

2002-10-13 - Ginger Epiphany
Pallidium was great. Lots of DancingBears tonight. Also more than a few Universe friends trying out Pallidium for the first time. Seems they enjoyed/are enjoying themselves.

I was blessed with and extended "it's great to be right here right now" epiphany tonight. I feel so lucky that I can sometimes see how wonderful my life is while I'm living it. And no, I'm not high. Only sugar, caffeine, and B complexes tonight.

I'm tired and more than a little dehydrated. Think I need salt. Water goes right through. Craving Crispy Noodle Ginger soup, but don't want to stay up long enough to make it. Maybe tomorrow for lunch.

Must sleep...

2002-10-12 - Zoo
Just got back from Dinner with Leigh.

Watched cartoons this morning. Love �Mucha Lucha! Had to make a trip to Cala to get Lucky Charms beforehand. I haven't had them in a long while and it seemed the logical breakfast choice for cartoons.

BOSF Zoo Trip earlier today. While I'm glad we went, it was a logistical disaster. BAD MUNI. This was my first trip to a zoo as an adult. I was uncomfortable about how unhappy some of the animals seemed. Particularly the Gorillas, who seemed very aware of their status, and a Sea Lion in a small tank.

Must take disco nap. Out dancing at Pallidium tonight. Scotts should be there for Scott B's birthday, as well as many of the other DancingBearsSF.

2002-10-11 - First Entry
Hey. I'm just starting a new diary and testing things out. I hope to redo my website soon to include the diary.

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland