IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2003-11-30 - Clanked
I've spent entirely too much time playing
Ratchet & Clank "Going Commando". Stats: Playing through the second time. 23/30 skill points earned. 35 Platinum bolts found. All but one nanotech acquired (the last one found, but I don't know how to get to it.) All but two weapons bought and five left to upgrade to their forth and final stage.

John and I went for a short roadtrip in the Malibu on Saturday then went to see Tamala 2010, Punk Cat from Space. I only fell asleep a few times during the movie. It was rather...ummm..."artsy."

2003-11-29 - EagleBeem
I went to the
Eagle Wednesday night after Chris X/RockBear clued me in that they were doing the usual Thursday Night Live early this week.

Once I got parked, I was tickled to see that three of the four bikes out front were Beemers. The forth was Japanese. I love the Eagle.

Good local indie bands per usual. Nice mellow mostly younger mixed crowd per usual. And "Art Bears." Always there the ever woofy hirsute patrons of the arts. Mmmmmm....

2003-11-25 - You are my Sunbeam(s)
After the series of damp chilly nights we've had, I've been seriously thinkin' about getting a electric/heated mattress pad. While shopping around I found a
Sunbeam webpage that totally sold me with the verbage, "Provide you and your sleeping partner separate, independent temperature control on Queens..." Not "Husband," "Wife," "Spouse" nor "Significant Other." Sleeping Partner--It sounds so progressive and trendy. The only way I could think to improve it would be to write "Provide you and your sleeping partner(s) separate..."--SO polyamorous.

2003-11-25 - Chocolat
Last night I went over to
John & Joe's for dinner, truffle makin' and Chocolat watchin'. It was a good idea, but too rushed for an after work school night. This kind of activity is something better left for a Saturday evening when there is plenty of time and no worries about workin' in the morning.

John was easy on me after seeing the bruises he left on me wrastlin' last week. I'm delicate.

2003-11-24 - Blowing
Friday night I left work dog tired. All thoughts of searching for Clay were abandoned and I was looking forward to tuckin' in early. When I got home I had a message on the machine from Old Bears John that he was in town and would be at the Edge. I did a quick turn around and wandered out the the Edge.

Glad I went out as I ran into everybody. Everbody but John. I ended up wandering off to dinner with Red & Rub at around 9pm. We had chicken fried steak at Orphan Andy's. Good stuff.

I wandered home afterwords and thought I'd pop the new Ratchet & Clank "Going Commando" disc in to check it out. I was gripped in a sudden temporal vortex and it was suddenly 4am. Baaadd Drew. I left the house twice during the weekend to get food. All the rest of my time was spent sleeping and blowing shit up.

2003-11-21 - The eyes have it
Last night around 5pm, my boss got a last minute notification that higher-up admin folks were popping in from our central offices and had a short list of generic questions about our systems. She gave the list to me and wanted me to brief her before the meeting this morning at 8:30. No big deal.

This morning she calls to say she'll be late, and asks if I'll meet with the higher ups. No sweat.

The highest higher up, Clay, has a big comforting presence, nicely trimmed whiskers, and deep dark brown eyes that were always sparkling at me. We kept making eye contact while other people were talking. I felt like a blushing school girl the whole meeting. I know he's staying in town tonight, and flying out tomorrow morning. I have no choice but to go out tonight and hope to run into him.

2003-11-20 - Sated
Last night I borrowed John while Joe went bowling and got the cuddles I've been needing. Cuddles during Star Trek; wraslin' and ticklin' during commercials. I slept well.

2003-11-19 - Bath�mon
I met
John & Joe and Jeff at Kabuki Hot Springs Japanese bath after work Monday. It is a nice place and I will be going back. I have mixed feelings about the whole experience. Elements I really like, and others that really rub me the wrong way. Likes:Warm, wet, naked (I was born that way), talking is discouraged, nice smells and sensation. Dislikes:That touch, eye contact, space sharing or any form of intimacy is staunchly discouraged.

2003-11-18 - Hoarding
With the combination of shortening days and threat of non-work, my primal little brain has been going into overdrive wanting to accumulate stuff. My guess is a sort of "get it while you can" knee jerk reaction.

The result is after several months of being very good and making double payments on
Tainn, I bought lots of LEGO sets this weekend. Still it isn't enough. If I had a big furry husband and a spacey pantry, I would probably be sated by buying useful staples to dig in for the winter. As I have neither, I think I need to shift my acquiring attentions to getting holiday gifts for folks. I started the ball rolling like I do every year by sending a huge box of pecans to my parents. Dad likes to shell and eat them while watching TV. Mom likes chocolates with liquor better, but those can't be shipped to Indiana. Pecans it is.

I am also assembling a DrewBear gift list for anyone who might be wondering what to get me. I don't expect anyone will, but it is still good diversion therapy. Submit gift requests here.

2003-11-17 - Future Drama
I dreamed last night that I was Fry in a Futurama episode. I spilled a container of nanytes, that we were supposed to be delivering, onto Leela. The nanytes gave her robot-like qualities like lightning fast piloting reflexes, accelerated zoom vision, communicating with and fixing all the gadgets in the office, and spitting the "Planet Express" logo onto any surface in paint. Bender got jealous of her newfound abilities and retaliated by trying to be the responsible sexy alpha babe. Leela finally freaked out and insisted that the Professor remove the nanytes when she went to the bathroom and instead of peeing, sprayed toilet cleaner. (Which I thought was very cool)

I remember all this because I woke up in the middle of the night and wrote what appears to be "nanytes leela robots" on a post it note on my desk. I considered keeping this to myself and trying to write an episode, but I know I wouldn't have the background skill to do so and would rather see it done well.

2003-11-14 - Saved for now
Had my meeting. I'm neither axed nor in consideration for part time, but will pick up the bulk of the work from one axee, and a fraction from the other.

2003-11-14 - Axe
Team meeting this morning. Two people out of ten from my team will get the axe by the end of the day. Three more will likely be converted to part time in the coming weeks. Lots of stress.

Think happy thoughts for me. Not that I keep my job, but that my life have lots of joy and challenges.

2003-11-14 - The exhibit that got away
I had a great evening. I love hearing local "place histories" told in the first person. Lucky for me,
Nayland was kind enough land me an invite to Yerba Buena Center for the Arts 10th Anniversary gig last night. I got an earful of stories and new eyes for the gardens now. Unlike most of the art gigs I've been to and hated, this one seems a smaller and more intimate family of folks. Comfortable and Friendly. Disagreement worn easily and spoken openly. So unlike the tedious stressful behind back whispering pretension that keeps me far away from many communities I see as "artsy."

I had an opportunity to make a perfect picture for todays entry, but had too much shame to snap it. The panel was held near an exhibit of an array of white metal ladders, that while the overhead lights were on, didn't strike me as anything special. When the overhead lights went off for a slide presentation everything changed. The metallic material picked up the a hot incandescent light from the next room, and then there was a forest of warm glowing orange struts in sharp relief to the darkened room. It was beautiful. As folks walked through the adjacent gallery and lobby, the lights swam around like embers. I entertained and held the thought for several minutes that I should stand up on my chair and snap a flashless picture. I didn't have the balls to do it. The lights came up, and the forest melted back into white on white leaving me pictureless.

2003-11-13 - Comatose
After another wonderful full day pow-wow with
John & Joe on Friday-Saturday, I got some serious cookin' done the rest of this four day weekend preparing for Nayland's visit this week. Given an entree choice of German Potato Soup, Chicken Noodle Soup or Mushroom Pie for his first dinner in town tonight, he chose Potato Soup AND Mushroom Pie. After a serving of both he was stuffed, but still managed to pack down a slice of Pecan Pie. I had planned on smokin' and port after dinner, but Nayland went into jet-lag assisted food coma and was down for the night.

�Woo Hoo! Mission accomplished.

2003-11-12 - TidBit
OK, I haven't been writin' much lately. Bad Drew. Here are the results of a
sex quiz if you're bored.

2003-11-10 - Mmmm....
The simplest things tickle me
sweetest in the three by three
warm gray garments that smell of thee
somehow quite inexplicably
bring joy into my heart.

2003-11-07 - QuotaNuva
Today,
Sister Betty wrote in his journal that the parrot flock* showed up outside his window after he blogged a day or so ago that he would like to see them again. I thought I'd come back and make a smart assed request in my journal for something I wanted when I realized that my date tonight (and last Saturday) is just that.

Let it be said: "Be careful what you blog for." - Your friendly neighborhood DrewBear

*I saw the flock a few years ago when they were living in the palms on Dolores. It is a wonder to behold. I'm not sure where they came from, but I'd like to think they are a tribe of escapee domesticated house parrots living it up in the big city. I hope they will inspire caged pets everywhere to break out and pack up.

2003-11-07 - mismojo
Usually I find I have bouts of mojo where it seems there are a handful of guys all hitting on me on the commute home from work. On the way to work this morning, there was an odd convergence of several guys I've lusted after for years who aren't interested, and two woofy new ones that didn't look my way. More than just the usual hornies going on here.

2003-11-05 - Snotty
I am sick. That little cough I thought was post-movie pizza going down the wrong way has turned into a snotty fluish mess. If you have made kissies with me, lots of vitamin C and Zinc is in order.

2003-11-04 - �Boom!
Rough roller coaster day. Haven't had time to process it all. Thanks to
John for taking to the movies, Kelly Zompoc for being the worst boom operator ever, and to Donovan for laughing as hard as I did every time it showed up on the top of the screen.

2003-11-03 - Illegal Umbrellas
Sometimes I'm amazed by the stuff people leave in the bed of my truck. Usually it's just stuff folks are too lazy to throw away. Trash, bottles, etc. Somehow throwing it into the bed of my truck is less like littering than throwing it on the street.

Sometimes, I get much more unusual payloads. This is the clutch of umbrellas I found in Flint tonight. �Ever wonder where all those lost umbrellas go? My guess is hitching rides south to fairer weather.

2003-11-03 - aka Oops
When I re-did my website last year, I wrote the bulk of the content beforehand, mostly for myself, and pasted it in the site well after the fact. Unfortunately I did the writing before I fleshed out "my fairness to others" rules, and didn't think to edit the stuff before publishing. Bad Drew. This weekend I got a full name hit for someone mentioned on my
history page. Nothing hateful toward the person involved, but potentially harmful in the wrong hands. ie:I am gay and had a crush on someone who I have no good reason to believe is/was/ever gay, but may be assumed "gay by association" by folks who think being gay is a bad thing. I have to dig back through my server logs and take a look at what they looked at.

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland