IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Com

2003-03-31 - Pants and Pipes
Very full weekend. Saturday was all about shopping for dress clothes for a gig that evening. Last year for my 30th birthday I bought new pants for myself. In a size that actually fits. I highly recommend it. I got five pairs of Carhartt "tool" pants, and a few pairs of 501s, I also have two casual kilts and a few pairs of play pants to get dirty in. I never bothered to replace my dress slacks as I never have need of them.

Being twiterpated does funny things. I went out and got a whole new outfit for the soft opening at Richard's gallery. I was reminded of how much I hate shopping for dress clothes. Or really shopping for clothes/shoes anywhere but hardware and big box stores. Oh, and army surplus and camping/outdoor stores.

After said clothes were bought, I had to go and find an iron. Seems as nice as they look in the package, those fancy shirts are all wrinkly. I gave my iron to good will during the last move as all my shirts that need ironin' go to the laundry anyway. Just so I don't have to iron them. Grrrr...

Shopping, ironing and getting cleaned up took up the bulk of my day and I was off to the gallery. I am not made for that sort of thing. I honestly felt more comfortable mud wrestling at the Eagle in my underwear that I did dressed up nice and making conversation with smart witty folks at the gallery.

Richard was all sparkle and charm and pressed and polished. He works that whole scene very very well. He was also very gracious when I ducked out less than and hour after I got there.

Yesterday I went riding for my first time with someone else. The someone else was Yogi Jim. He's not charm or pressed or polished at all. Quite the opposite. I learned quite a few things on my ride. Mostly that I depend a good deal on hearing to tell me what my engine is doing, and Harley's are way louder than my bike. It was also great playing follow the leader, as I had a small zone I cared to be in, rather than just being wherever was easiest to ride. Was a pleasant challenge, and I'm sure it will improve my riding skills with time. I also know now that I DON'T want a Harley. They look nice, but damn are they obnoxiously loud. Especially when your ridin' on the pipes end of one for hours. Not for me. I prefer calm, quiet, powerful and I want to "walk more lightly" than a Harley will afford me.

2003-03-26 - Random Non-Smithing
I've got plenty to write about. It all sloshes around in my head quite nicely. I have no desire to smith it into words right now. I hope I will remember this and appreciate it when I want to write badly, but have no content.

I've been playing way too much Pok�mon Saphire lately. (Eight Gym Badges, 55 Pok�mon, and looking for Trainers to mix blocks with)

I have a good many random thoughts about Richard during the day. Still twitterpated.

I've been dreaming lately too. Cool Stuff.

2003-03-24 - Birthday Bullet
If got a good many ideas and memories floating around in my head. Not sure I'm up for writing, but need to anyway, just to kick start myself.

* Richard is super dreamy and I'm falling for him.

* Richard and
Fluffy Richard are not the same.

* I rode to Stockton Saturday for the Golden State Bears Beer Bust. `bout 200mi round trip.

* The rolling green hillsides covered with hundreds of windmill generators are so beautiful.

* There is a Long John Silvers in Tracy. �Woo Hoo! I didn't think there were any in California.

* California's central valley smells like Central Illinois to me.

* I went Dancing Saturday night at Sugar at the Stud.

* Saturday was Donovan's Birthday

* I started my birthday surrounded by sweaty furry dancing bearkin.

* Said Bearkin wandered over to Score afterhours dance party.

* I got tired

* I wandered through United Nations Plaza on my walk back to my truck. I got sad `cause the United Nations isn't so united anymore.

* I remembered that I forgot to have a stiff drink for the late Robert Earnst on the 22nd as has been my personal tradition for the past seven years.

* On the one night I've stayed out `til 5am in the past three years, my flatmate decides to vacuum for the first time ever at 9am

* Great e-mail from Mom about her 31st birthday-Something I remember. It gives me life-altering perspective

* Best Birthday card from Albert Oliver. Homemade, LEGO & Big Beefy Wrestler. Trifecta.

* Brunch with Leigh

* IBR Volunteer dinner at Buca

* Dinner date with Richard.

* �Did I mention that I'm falling for Richard?

* Road trip today (Monday) South on Skyline into the San Gregorio Mountains to Alices. Further South into the Santa Cruz mountains and into Santa Cruz. Back up along the coast. `bout 200mi.

* They wind was blowing hard/gusty SSE today. It was hard riding up the coast.

*Beard trim from Darrell

* Dinner with Richard

* Made coco crispy rice treats with Richard.

* �Did I mention that I'm falling...

2003-03-23 - Thisday
Just getting home from dancing. Completely whupped. I've had alot happen to today that I'll hopefully write about later. For now only one thing.

This one's for you Robert.

2003-03-21 - Friday Five Time & Place
From
Friday Five
1. If you had the chance to meet someone you've never met, from the past or present, who would it be?
Joshua A. Norton, Emperor of the United States and Protector of Mexico circa 1840s San Francisco. I would also buy a lot (literally) of land on my trip back.

2. If you had to live in a different century, past or future, which would it be?
I think I'd do better in the past. If I thought I could make a decent living at smithing or fighting, I'd do it now. Just not in big demand this century. Maybe 3rd or 4th century Scotland.

I have fantasties about being Kokopelli, visiting with the North American natives in a pre-european time, and hibernating in the winter. They call me "Sleeps with Bears."

3. If you had to move anywhere else on Earth, where would it be?
Toughie. New Zealand is first choice, Scotland a close second.

4. If you had to be a fictional character, who would it be?
Probably a magic user passing for a smithy in the Northern Hardlands of Faerun on Aber-Toril. There are alot of big furry good hearted bastards that live there, and I'd love to touch the Weave.

5. If you had to live with having someone else's face as your own for the rest of your life, whose face would you choose?
I decline to answer as it is likely that I would chose some real person rather than someone hollywood, and I don't care to choose. Thick red whiskers and green eyes would be a must. It would be nice to have hair again if that was included.

2003-03-20 - Smoke Paper Rock
I went out to lunch today with Briar John. We met to go to Occidental Cigar Bar on Pine between Montgomery & Kerny, but Occidental didn't have anything to eat. Instead we had Gyros at the greek place next door, and smoked and watched the protests.

The SFPD was wonderful all during lunch. Cool. Objective. Focused. Everyone out on the streets looked like they felt as safe as I did. Rather than a riot feeling, it is more of a tumbling street fair.

I'm am openly delighted at the protestors destruction of the street paper vending machines. While I am generally disgusted by destruction and defacing, the street paper vending machines are a personal pet peeve of mine. I've spent a good many lunches staring at them and fantasizing about renting a 14' box van, putting on jump suits, and harvesting them all up with a pair of 18" bolt cutters. Then I would take them to the dump, or weld them together into a art. I just hate the fucking things. And now they are being hauled away. If the machines are well maintained and actually used, great. If not, they are just another piece of trash on the street. I'm sure the respectable papers in town will replace theirs quickly. The rest we can do without.

2003-03-20 - Peace Procedure
Unlike
UpHillBothWays, I had a very plesant commute to work. MUNI was running swiftly and without crowding. When I came up at the East end of Montgomery Station, there were some civil disobassholes blocking market with louds of clamor and angry talk. There was also a firetruck there with a cute stocky solid rear axle steerer guy. Nothing like a tight t-shirt over a nice round beer belly hanging over turnout pants. �WooF!

I also noticed several smaller, non-disobasshole groups with very powerful statements. One was a group of folks dressed in black with white mimeish masks and pictures of Arabic folks hung around thier necks wandering seemingly aimlessly down the sidewalks. Very powerful imagery. Another was a clutch of young females with one stick-clicker, one cowish bell ringer, and they rest with both arms held high in peace/victory signs. They looked very confident, and walked the sidewalk like they had an agenda. They were loud enough to be heard blocks away, but not at all annoying.

I was jazzed to see both of the small groups. It is so good to see peacenics being creative and powerful without resorting to anger and obstruction.

I've also heard helicopters all night long. They don't bother me so much. I just pretend that the press has finally figured out that I sired Madonna's second child.

2003-03-18 - Plugged Virgin Portal
Gus Mac Roich was right about the sparkplug breaking incident. I've heard from many different sources that crackheads take/break off the plugs and use the ceramic bits to do whatever crack thing they do. That would explain why the rest of the bike wasn't touched, and why the busted plugs I found had no ceramic bits left, nor was there any in the gutter. I used to think the sentencing discrepancy between powder and crack cocaine was wrong, now I'm all for it. Powder people don't target the sacred motorcycle. I got the tow to the shop today, and all is well and fixed. I'll get the price tag for the towing and fixing tomorrow. Cross your fingers.

I had dinner with Tom last night. He's burnt out on the Castro, so we went to Fisherman's Wharf. As much as I think I'm avoiding the place, it was kinda nice out there. All salty sea air and sea lion barking. Dinner was OK, but nothing special and way overpriced.

Laundry this morning. I thought I was being clever and took my dusty duvet cover and put it on low heat in a dryer for 40 minutes to get it undusty. Brought it home and still got the same reaction. I'm now wondering if just the action of flopping it around moves the air enough to stir up all the dust elsewhere.

I spent some time with Richard this afternoon and evening. We went to Virgin to look for a movie to come home and watch. We also stopped by Ross because Bracers Todd told me 2xist tighty whiteys are on sale there. Richard and I hopped on MUNI to get back to the Castro, and I mentioned that if we didn't have bags, I would try to talk him into going to West Portal for Double Rainbow ice cream. He grabbed my bag from me, and told me now that I was bagless, we had no excuse not to go. I sure do like him. After ice cream we came home, curled up and slept. Mmmm...I like that too. I need to chase after him.

2003-03-16 - Better
I'm feeling more myself again. I went and found my other smashed spark plug and took a walk around the block. Per usual with the Castro, I can't go half a block without two people stoppong me to say hi or to love on me. A trip to StarBears and lunch at the Cove was the recharge I needed.

I lost an afternoon of riding, and getting my bike fixed will be a pain in the ass. No problem. I live in the most wonderful neighborhood on Earth, filled with people who love me. Sunshine is pouring in my windows and across my bed. Soft cool breezes explore my windows and tickle my back. Life is good.

If anyone knows how to construct a ramp, or another good cheap way or tips about getting a 250cc motorcycle into a chevy s-10 pickup long enough to get it to a
garage 19 or so blocks away, I'd love to hear about it. I'm going to swap my regular day off and give it a try Tuesday morning.

2003-03-16 - Fucked up.
Everything can change in a heartbeat. I was havin' a great day, lookin' forward to goin' on a roadtrip with Tom. He called me from the gas station across the street tellin' me he's fueling up. I go down, say hi, and go to grab rebel. Someone has removed both spark plugs. I found one smashed in the gutter.

Nothing says, "I not only hate you, but I have issues." like fucking up somebody's motorcycle.

I understand somebody hating me. Fine. Walk up and hit me. Tell me. Send me hate mail. It's just SO fucked up fucking with my motorcycle.

My shop is closed Sunday and Monday. While I might have the skill to replace the plugs, I don't have resources or skill to clean out the water and whatever other shit may have gotten into my engine. Looks like no riding for awhile.

2003-03-16 - Sky Show Sleep Steal
The Clouds are breaking from the morning rain, and patches of blue sky are showing through. Good. I'm hoping to get out on the bike for a bit today.

Yesterday was BOSF beer bust. I love grilling hot dogs. I am so over petty talk behind other folks' backs rather than resolving issues head on. Yesterday was on of those opportunities where the universe showed me just how ugly it could get. I'm glad. I see it in myself sometimes, and now that I'm thoroughly disgusted by it, I'm hoping I can learn to hold my tongue before saying anything unconstructive or downright malicious.

Thank you powers that be for letting me see myself in what I don't like about others.

My Wednesday night dream date, Richard, came to the bear bust, made love to me with his flirty eyes, and swept me home when the beer bust was over. We had a great power nap, then woke up at 11ish and had a late dinner at Orphan Andy's. We decided to watch a movie (Beautiful Thing) after dinner, and curled up in bed and did so. Richard caught me watching him more than a few times during the movie. I sure do like lookin' at him. I also like sleepin' with him....ummmmmm...dreamy. He stole the covers a few times last night. It was great.

2003-03-14 - Opposites
Serodiscordance.
Sucks shit stones from fucking hell.
Not in the nice way.

2003-03-14 - Friday Five F�ne
From
Friday Five.
1. Do you like talking on the phone? Why or why not?
No. I don't encode audio to well, so I pick up many ques from body language, sight and smell. Phones are also intrusive. Realtime and live. They expect to be answered right away, and don't give you time to think and construct replies. In person, IM, or e-mail for me.

2. Who is the last person you talked to on the phone?
A Tech from our Oakland office.

3. About how many telephones do you have at home?
Hmmm...five for me. I have a mobile, three Siemens phones that work off one base station and a backup analog for emergiencies that I keep stored with my extra wires and such. Ken has two land and one mobile and Erin has a mobile. I think that's nine for the household.

4. Have you encountered anyone who has really bad phone manners? What happened?
Yeah, the telemarketers that invade my peace and privacy with the phone service I pay for for my personal use. I politely tell them to take me off their list and hang up.

5. Would you rather pick up the phone and call someone or write them an e-mail or a letter? Why or why not?
E-mail in a heartbeat, unless it's something particularly interpersonal, then I'll meet them in person if I can. Phone as a last resort.

2003-03-14 - Cigar Dawg
Getting ready to go to bed. Ken had his day off today and made a trip down to Montery. He brought back some
Cool Cat Cigars. They are pretty kick ass. I just finished one up, smoked it down `til it was burning my fingers, and could go for more. Smooth flavorful, and I've got a nice buzz goin'. Mmmmmm... I have to order me some...when I empty out my humidor a bit. Just got a box of Henry Clay Habana 2000 Mirabelles in the mail last week. I ordered them in anticipation of the SmokeOut in Vegas towards the end on the month, but it doesn't look like I'll get to go. Work Stuff. Not a total bummer, that's that much more money I'll save towards the get-a-biger-bike fund. Room smells nice...Think I'll leave the air cleaner on low so it'll linger for awhile.

The picture is a well crafted tin dog in the Doctor's office. I love the hangin' balls. When I complimented the Doctor on it, she proudly flipped it around and showed me how the ass opened up to put a candle inside. Great. The serated holes around the edges and the eyes must light up and glow when there's a lit candle inside. I'll have to remember to ask where she got it.

2003-03-13 - Spoon Sandwich Malt
I had a really great date last night. �Woof! Also a really great sleepover. Good fit spooning. Both ways. I really needed that. The responsible party assures me that I won't have to wait another three years for a third date. I'm hopin' I won't have to wait more than a week.

I had a doctor appointment this morning. (which allowed the sleepover to be a sleepin) All good news from the Doctor.

I was running a little early on my way to the doctor, and discovered that what I thought was just a flower shop at Castro and 14th is also a produce/juice/sandwich shop. Cheap and really good. I had some fresh strawberry/cranberry juice and a peanut butter, strawberry jelly, and fresh strawberry sandwich on cinimon bread. Kick ass, and only $3.50USD. I'd recommend you check it out if you like that sort of thing.

After my appontment I called my dinner date and we had lunch at Hot & Hunky. Mmmm...Vanilla Malt. Usually they give you the extra shake/malt that doesn't fit in the glass in the metal mixer cup. There was enough left in there today to refill the class twice. We didn't end up drinking it all. Good stuff. Both man and malt.

The picture is of the North end of the Ferry Building in alignment with the Central West tower of the western span of the bay bridge. If you look closely, you can see the tower through the windows.

2003-03-12 - Taking Sides
This morning while leaving my bedroom the last time to go to work, I looked back and noticed that all the covers on the bed had migrated about six inches towards "my" side of the bed. I was sad.

The other side of the bed doesn't belong to anyone.

2003-03-12 - Bear Beef Cake
I've been getting a good many hits lately from guys looking for IBR pics. They might want to check over at
Tom's or Lynn's sites. With daily photogaphy taking a priority, I don't care to use the space for beefcake. Though I love that yummy bear beefcake.

2003-03-11 - Bowl
BOSF Day. Same old Same old at work today, then I stayed late and headed towards Yerba Buena Gardens. I popped into the Metreon and had a quick dinner at Buckhorn. I love the brocolli salad that comes with the tri-tip platter. Thought I'd have time to buzz around the PlayStation store, but didn't. Probably better that way as I'm only allowing myself one new game per month on the "new (motorcycle savin') budget."

After finishin' dinner, I headed up to the second level and wandered across the cat walk over Howard Street into Yerba Buena Gardens. I took today's pic before heading into the bowling alley. I'm likein' the way the color came out. Sometimes I see a beautiful color I want to catch, but my camera won't cooperate. Did fine with this shot.

Seventeen guys showed up for bowling. Three didn't bowl, and four sat out a set so others could bowl. It seemed to go very well. I bowl very very badly. The worst there. I'm so glad we had beer.

2003-03-11 - Paranormal Press
Not twelve hours after I post my amazing story, and I'm seeing referral hits from
Paranormal News. I'm not sure why or how, but it's almost as cool as the e-mail I got offering me a job at a psychic telephone service. I'll have to dig that up and post it sometime.

2003-03-10 - Many Drews
Now that
RoadiePig has publicly confirmed my sometime suspicions, I feel a little better about talking about a mystery that's been plaguing me lately.

Those of you who've known me for awhile, or visited my website before I started blogging, may recall the story of how I was kidnapped shorty after birth and swept away to the Peruvian Andes--a robotic changeling left in my place so as not to rouse the suspicions of certain maji watchers. It seems that my maji watchers were one up on the powers that arranged for the kidnapping, and had made a failsafe clone of me that they left to be raised in Greene, ND. While I've know about the robotic double and been able to sync memories since `91, I've only recently confirmed the existence of my Greene, ND counterpart. Strangely enough, it was Weetabix that acted as the medium.

When I first saw Weetabix outside The Hotel on the Hill, she immediately reminded me of Jill McKinney, my gradeschool sweetheart, in a strange twilight zone sort of way. Like I was watching my life through someone else's eyes. She slowly mesmerized me with her twittering songbird voice during brunch, then once she felt I was ready, pulled out the Amazing Maji Monkey Bag. I felt comfortable waves of steamy New Orleans voodoo roll over me, teaching me how to mind link with my Greene self, and filling my mind with his/our memories. At once, all the half hazy references and pictures in RoadiePig's diary that seemed so familiar, but out of focus somehow, snapped into clarity and I remembered "my" life in North Dakota, not unlike the way I am able to sync memories with my robotic double.

This entry has already grown way to long, so I'll have to write later about the other amazing new epiphanies like Magi Watcher Jiggs, his mystic daughters, the entities that kidnapped me and how robot Drew is currently making his/our way to Asia to find our in-tranced clone protected in a Maji temple hidden--well fuck, I'm not going to tell you where he's/I'm hidden.

2003-03-10 - Pok�mon Nuva
I went to
EBX today during lunch and pre-bought Pok�mon Sapphire. I didn't know it was even on the way `til I saw a commercial for it during Saturday morning cartoons. It's amazing how quickly I can go from ignorant to obssesed.

Team Sweet Dreams shall rise again. Give me three days after release, and I'll kick all your asses. Snorlax Rules.

2003-03-09 - Sever Steal Sleep
I finally did laundry last night. Then was pretty wiped out, so only went out to the Lone Star for one beer, and even then just to touch base with somebody.

I was up early this morning and off to Oakland to upgrade a server. Seemed to have went really well. Tomorrow will tell when all the users start banging on it. The patch didn't solve all the problems I'd hoped to, but that it wasn't a pain in the ass was a very good thing.

On my way home I was hungry for cheap beef tacos so I opted to switch from Bart to MUNI at Civic Center Station and hit that Green Burrito place. Powerful lunch entertainment. Well dressed grown men trying to steal fountain drinks from savvy teenage fast food workers. Apparently the assholes do it enough that the workers have a switch behind the counter to flip the soda machine off and on. The assholes dig cups out of the garbage or hit up paying customers for them when their finished, and try to sneak up to the fountain and get free drinks. Again and Again. Then workers turn off the fountain. The assholes are foiled. The assholes scream and call the latina workers "nigger bitches." Then sneak out of line of sight and try it again. The whole time I was there. Clean, well dressed grown men who's dignity is worth less that a 69� soda.

I tried to take a nap this afternoon but didn't. I SO need to find someone to curl up next to and sleep with on a regular basis. I sleep so much better. Grrrr...

2003-03-08 - No Hamsters
�LOL! I was just checking my logs and got a google hit for `"Tape Fetish" -hamster -bondage'

2003-03-08 - Lonely Laundry
Yesterday while getting off MUNI, I suddenly started feeling OK, and I thought I'd go kick some ass. The theame to "Legally Blonde" popped into mind, and the sun came out. Work was good. I conquered some of those lingering nagging techie things and felt very accomplished. Good Day.

This morning I was up bright and early as I had every intention to do laundry before it got too nice out. I popped on to the PC to check mail as I was getting ready to leave, and found a message from
Weetabix. �Why do laundry, when I could do brunch with Weet? My favorite out of context Weetabix quote is, "Esteban's is bigger than yours." It was a big blow to my manliness.

After Weet hopped a cab back to Hotel on the Hill, I figured I'd at least take my shirts to the laundry--it's way too nice out to do anything else--and popped by StarBears. Smileing Jim insisted on taking my picture, and Wolf insisted on sticking his tounge in my ear. The laundry continues to wait.

2003-03-07 - Friday Five Last Things
From
Friday Five.

1. What was the last song you heard?
Hmmm..."Perfect Day" from the Legally Blonde soundtrack has been buzzing through my head since I got off MUNI this morning, but I'm hard pressed to think of the last song I've heard.

2. What were the last two movies you saw?
Leigh and I rented Star Trek Generations on {gasp} VHS this weekend--first time I've seen it. I think Chamber of Secrets is the last movie I saw at a theater.

3. What were the last three things you purchased?
An Orange Dream Machine smoothie at Jamba Juice this morning, dinner last night at Orphan Andy's, and big index cards at an office supply store yesterday that I had intended to take to bingo and put non-hat size measurements in folks hats at bingo. (Like Disney's mad hatter's hat size card tucked into hat band)

4. What four things do you need to do this weekend?
Repair/Replace catch plate on bedroom door. Make a trip to drop off quilts and such at Goodwill. Install the 6a patch on a NetWare 5 server in Oakland. Get laid.

5. Who are the last five people you talked to?
I just got a call from Weetabix; Lynda; Jessica; PowerCub on MUNI and Ken.

2003-03-06 - More Whining
Rough day at work again today. All the way home I had fantasies about being a letter carrier. I should start looking into that now as a fall back position. Seems every job I've had, they keep promoting me `til I'm useless and miserable, then I leave because I miserable. I'm feeling very useless and miserable right now. If the economy wasn't so bad, I'd feel alot better about job hopping. I wonder how much the pions at LegoLand California make. A nice LEGO discount might be worth just as much as good government post office benefits, and lord knows they would promote me. It's not my fault I'm charismatic and good looking. (grin)

I had every intention of going to
bingo tonight, but I didn't have a good mad hatter/alice costume, and am not up for 5+ hours of a big crowd. Ba-Da-Bingo is great fun, and I think I would enjoy it more if I could take it in smaller doses.

I've been bad about taking pictures lately. My brain shares are all used up with sick, tired and stressed. Got my quarterly Dr. appointment next Thursday. Feeling the way I have been lately, I'm worried about what my numbers might look like. Time will tell. Grrrr...must remove myself from funk.

2003-03-05 - TribUrban Bear.
I've got a craving for a chicken parmesan sub. I wandered through North Beach during lunch looking for one. Didn't find any place (that was open) that had `em. If any one has any suggestions about where to find `em in or near the Financial District, please let me know.

During my wanderings I was delighted to hear folks speaking an Asian language that I recognized as being neither Cantonese nor Japanese. More accurately, pleased that I'm able to parse out differences even though I don't understand any of it.

I ended up getting a Chicken Sicilian at
ToGos. While I was eating the sub on the steps of the Stock Exchange, a piegeon started moving in on me. Some lady on the street gave me a very harsh look when I subvocally growled at it.

2003-03-04 - MoHairy
It was one of those BOSF days. So nothing happened. Work. BOSF Board Meeting. Not much to write about.

Seems like quite a few folks on
Diaryland are making fun of Khalid Sheikh Mohammed's harriness. If they could only see some of the furry bastards I date. Nothing like waking up spooned around a warm snoring furball. ...or those cute little swirly patterns wet fur makes.

I'm off to bed. I started a patch on my server before the BOSF meeting, and it was taking forever. I'll have to go in extra early and bounce the server to get it to take. Must sleep.

2003-03-04 - IRL MSA
I'd like to extend an apology to whichever online friend stopped me today during lunch and said, "Hi." I did not recognize you in your IRL (In Real Life) Meat Suit Avatar, and didn't want to ask in front of your co-worker for fear of stomping on your privacy. If you'd like to do lunch sometime, give me a holler.

2003-03-03 - DMV Clean
California DMV has started letting the public fill out some of it's forms online so as to avoid lots of paper and hassle for all involved, and I'd imagine a good deal of data entry on their part. Unfortunately, change of address is not one of the forms one can complete online. It's availible online to print, fill out and mail in, but not electronically fileable. I made a trip to the DMV today. Normally I would wait `till my next workday, print out the form (no printer at home), and mail it in, but Friday I got paperwork for vehicle registration renewals with my old 18th Street address, and had hoped to get all the address change business done today. I also wanted a new license with the new address. While the State of California is not to picky about having a license with the current address so long as it's correct in their database, the post office and UPS are a bit more picky when I go to pick up packages that weren't delivered to my home. The dark of it is, I waited an hour and a half for somebody to watch me sign a form and hand them a check for $12 so they can take four to six weeks to mail me a license with my new address. Yeah DMV.

When I got home, Ken popped in shortly afterwards with my newly arrived air cleaner. It came in unexpectedly early, and I'm loving it so far. Especially the auto feature. It doesn't detect the change in air quality immediatly, but it does detect a bad turn, and will kick the fan up and clean `til the air is back to acceptable levels. Ken waved a lit cigarette in front of the unit to try it out. It doesn't like cigarette smoke. It also went crazy when I remade my bed. It seems waving the flannel sheets (which I imagine are covered with lots of DrewBear shedded cells) dirties the air enough to drive the LCD air quality bar graph up to maximum. Way cool. I'm so glad I'm not breathing the stuff.

2003-03-03 - Pro Bar Fly
Way Dehydrated. Not sure why, as I haven't done anything particulatly mean to my body lately.

Well, except for the shot of Yeager with Max & Brian and the two and a third bears I consumed yesterday. I got ticked reading
Wheatabix's recent account of drinking all night at Bad Bar, and leaving with more money than she arrived with. Happened to me last night. Kelly gave me a dollar to kiss Bill. I feel so professional now. I should have saved the dollar and framed it.

I had odd flying dreams last night--not odd that I was flying, I get to do that quite a bit, but odd about how I was flying. Usually I fly under my own power, and somtimes I have wings. Last night I was piloting a `mech on some sort of military testing field and shooting down robot fighter planes. It's a good deal harder to fly when you're incased in a 80 ton suit of steel.

2003-03-01 - Broken
I did next to nothing yesterday, and little more today. I was supposed to fight this morning, but my opponent had better things come up. Probably a good thing as I'm still not feeling 100%.
Leigh called and offered brunch. When he arrived, he was pretty banged up from a fall he had last night. Bill, Andy & I talked him into going to the hospital to get it checked out. After being very well treated at the hospital `cause everyone just assumed I was Leigh's partner, we found out he had a broken wrist. He's over watching TV now. Looks like I'll get to keep him for the night.

IndexOlderReaderNotesNewerNewestDrewBear.Comdiaryland